Career crisis?

on

The feeling of wanting to get away from the current workplace has increased a lot. It’s beyond my understanding as to how a team can work in such a haphazard manner. It’s a new team, into which I was taken around three weeks back. Maybe I am being too judgemental and that too very soon. But I don’t get a good feeling here right now. There was no team introduction. People working on a module don’t interact with people working in another module.

There was no Knowledge Transfer, no introduction to the processes. Thankfully I had a friend in the same team and I could pester him to learn a few things. Him too being just a year old in the project, knows little stuff. I am not sure if things will take a turn for the better or worsen. But I find it really strange to be working with people where communication is such a big problem! Having worked with an awesome, fun and friendly team previously, it’s hard for me to believe that a new member can be made to feel so alien too.

I have been thinking a lot lately about a job change and about alternative career options. Finding my strengths and what I would enjoy doing has been the toughest challenge. Well, I like doing different crafty stuff. Have learnt various techniques and stuff previously and would love to learn more. I knit, crochet, paint, know tiny bit about embroidery. Sewing is one of the things I want to learn. Keeping this in mind, I have been thinking of atleast starting some part time venture. At this point of time, all this is just in my head.

There are a lot of website which allow you to sell and buy different handmade stuff. The whole point is about being different to be noticed. I know a lot of people who do such stuff as a whole time job too. They do get lots of orders. Yet, I am apprehensive and limited by my thoughts of not succeeding.

Only time will tell about what’s gonna happen. For now, I leave you with a picture of a scarf I recently knit. I love it! I have made this for a friend whose wedding in is April and she leaves for UK thereafter. Hope she likes it!

scarf1

Share your thoughts...

