Mixed Bag – I

on

I always knew I am sort of an introvert. I am neither comfortable nor good at making conversations with new people. One thing is I can’t make small talk for the sake of it and secondly, if it’s a new person then I won’t know anything about him/her to strike a conversation. Maybe this is one of the reasons why I have stuck to old friends. I am most comfortable only around them and they are people who know me since a long time ago. But what I realized is that there is some sort of a fear associated with it. For instance there was a client visit at office today. Since I am relatively new to the team, I hadn’t seen or met the guy before. While the whole team met him, I was at my desk hoping and praying no one calls me to talk to him. There was a fear as I wasn’t sure of what I am supposed to talk to him. But in the previous team where I was for more than 2 years, I had regular work related interactions with the client and onsite members. Why is it so difficult the first time?? 😐

Me and Bg (the hubby) went and bought a gold ring on the occasion of Akshaya Tritiya (just an excuse :P) for me! What’s with guys and jewelry? Why is there so much fuss to wear a ring or chain, when we ladies are supposed to roam around wearing all symbols of being married, from the mangalsutra to the toe ring. Oh! the drama he does to wear the engagement ring. 😑

I am pretty pissed and have decided not to visit my parents or my sis. I keep popping up there at every opportunity I get, coz I miss them so much! 😦 But in the past six months they have hardly visited me. The reason they give is that I stay with my in-laws and that it doesn’t seem appropriate to come too often. 😑 How is that a valid reason? So what if I stay with my in-laws, as if they didn’t know that when they found the match for me? Most importantly, how does it matter? You are coming to see me, your daughter, why would anybody mind it??

I hate Mondays! It’s proven today. Every Monday I have this horribly sad mood at work. Not that I am super happy or jumpy on the other days, but they are okay. But Mondays are really tough. First having to get up early after having slept nicely in the weekend, secondly come to the stupid unfriendly office and spend 9.5 hrs and finally the thought that you have to wait a good 5 days for it to be weekend again. 😦 Well writing this post is somehow helping and it’s almost time to leave. πŸ™‚

On Saturday I visited a school friend and spent a good three hours with her. It felt so awesome and comfortable, just like old times. That’s the best thing about true friends, no matter how rarely you talk to them, you never feel awkward when you meet up. You just pick up from where you left. πŸ™‚ Isn’t it?

How was your weekend??

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Tatsat says:

    Mine was alright. Caught up with the first IPL match this season. Flatmates got beer and barged into my room saying they have not seen me for like 10 days πŸ˜‰

    I think you are underestimating yourself. Its fair to say that one takes her own time to get comfortable, and that you are not that chatty if not so. But I think you should give it a try. You know… like you gave those amazing extempore speeches back in school days πŸ™‚ You can try, right ?

    I have similar reservations with jewellery as well. But they say, it is the investment one makes for bad times. Does not make sense to me- have a fair idea of financial instruments to invest in. But again… kahaan kahaan halla machayein πŸ˜‰

    Ab aisa karna is not ok. I totally agree that such norms are downright nonsense. And that girl’s parents should not think so. Maybe they don’t and are only weighed down by societal expecations. Difficult to change mindset at that age. But revenge is not the solution for it haina ?

    Office aana toh pasand nahin but paise milte hain jab tab toh badaa mazaa aata hai πŸ˜‰ You office-goers are all the same πŸ˜›

    PS- I always believe in giving people a chance to be my good friend. That they disappoint, is another story altogether πŸ™‚

    1. Flatmates ko hi 10 din se nahi dikhe?? :O Kahan rehte ho janab?

      Yeah.. really gotta work on the communication part, else it’s gonna be a blocker everywhere I go. Mom dad pe revenge lena accha nahi hai, I know.. But that’s just a thought that came to my mind when I was angry, I am sure I can’t do it. πŸ˜›

      1. Tatsat says:

        I know. People do silly things/speak nonsense while angry. I almost smashed my laptop once πŸ˜‰

        As for the communication, I think you are a positive person. And you should keep it up. Starting with the assumption that people are nice is a fine idea ( we talked about it some time back right ? )

        1. I have smashed a lot of stuff too. Spectacles being my fav. πŸ˜›

          Yeah you are right.. I should take the first step forward… πŸ™‚

  2. greenboochi says:

    I am also an introvert kind of person, rather than meeting new people I would sit quietly at home reading a book or watching tv. And I can totally understand meeting new people at work, for the first time. Even I keep praying I wouldnt be called out to talk to him/her. Sometimes I wish I can change this characteristic of mine – gives me unnecessary tension at work for reasons that seem silly for others. Hugs!

    The same question I have in mind – S cribs a lot to wear the engagement ring and thats the only jewelery he has worn. Whereas I am supposed to wear a 5-sovereign thick mangalsuthra chain, toe rings etc etc..(not that he insists.. but atleast parents and in-laws would force). 😑

    On the parents front, I can again fully understand. Though I dont stay with in-laws, they wont come here as soon as I invite them. There is still the thought about staying with a daughter.. what will the mappillai think, in-laws think etc etc, though these ppl are sweet and wouldnt mind. I think as afar as the girl’s parents are concerned, it would take some years for this thought process to change. Sigh. I wonder what will be the situation of parents like mine, who only have two daughters. If they keep sticking to their stupid thoughts, its not going to work. Thankfully I have made my parents see the point and they dont feel bad visiting me. I hope your parents would soon understand too.

    Meeting a dear friend from childhood always means joy, especially given the fact that we dont make new friends very easily πŸ™‚ So true is the statement – “no matter how rarely you talk to them, you never feel awkward when you meet up” πŸ™‚

    1. Like I said, I really gotta work on talking to new people. I guess we should just face it and there will be lesser fear. πŸ™‚

      Men!! They will just be the same no matter how much we crib about it. πŸ˜€

      Same is the case at our end, just two daughters. They visit often at my sis’s place coz my nephew is there. In fact my sis stays close to my place too. Yet they expect me to go over when they are there. I really hope someday my parents too give up these rigid ideas they have in mind. 😦

  3. Mi says:

    I understand the introvert part.. There are few of them I know.. spending time with old friends is the best refreshment one can ever have! πŸ™‚
    About family not visitng you, I’d say atleast you have them in the same city as yours.. at times like these think about less fortunate ones like me 😦
    Congrats on that gold thing from ur hubby..u are one lucky gal!!
    And about mondays.. I love ’em πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

    1. I know how horrible it to stay away from the house.. 😦

      Yeah read your post too. I was amazed to see that someone at least likes mondays. πŸ˜› from what I have heard, almost everyone hates them! πŸ™‚

  4. We all have problems communicating from time to time and with time, we get used to. Chill! We all hate mondays coz the blue gnaws but when Friday comes, party.
    Cheerz
    http://www.vishalbheeroo.wordpress.com

    1. Hey Vishal! πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the comment!
      Finally it’s friday πŸ˜‰

      1. my pleasure entirely. yep, it is:)

  5. Monkey Mind says:

    Sigh! Glad to know I have some company in the friends-making-department :). Like I mentioned somewhere in my post, I do not have the friend-making-gene and it is more of me not putting an effort onto it.

    Quite true. This girl getting married- you belong there mindset is deeply rooted. It needs tremendous push from us-girls to bring out parents out of it I guess. They keep thinking about society, this, that etc and none of make sense or sound remotely fair. Gawwddd!

    1. Hey MM!
      Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚
      I really hope we girls succeed in changing our parents thinking!

  6. bedazzledeternally says:

    MY first time here .. nice candid post .. I think I am more of an ambivert ( if a word like that exists) .. Sometimes I make friends at the drop of the hat (and lose them at alarming speeds) , and at other times even after 5-6 years of knowing someone , they would still remain acquaintances. Ah, the mangalsutra and toe-ring conundrum.. There were phases when I never wore them , and not wearing them seemed like a great way to show my rebellion to stupid sentimentality that doesn’t make a difference to me one way of the other .. but I have attracted quite a few negative comments from relatives, and have decided that if people want empty symbolism , that is what they will get.. So that thick thaali hangs around the neck .. but toe ring.. no way !

    1. Hey Bhargavi!
      Thanks for stopping by to read. πŸ™‚
      I think, we become rebellious, when something is forced on us. In my case I don’t mind wearing the thaali and toe ring, coz my in-laws/husband never made it a mandate. They don’t mind these things much. On other hand I feel so rebellious in front of my parents, who seem to think it’s a big fault not to follow age old customs. In fact my dad was insisting on getting my nose pierced before the wedding and I wouldn’t budge! I will do it some day, IF I want, not because I am married and I have to get it done. Makes no sense!
      Always feels great to interact with people who think similar. Welcome here! πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts...

