Weakling

on

Everyone has strengths and weaknesses. While we are very proud of the former, we try to hide the latter and don’t really work on changing it.

One of my major weakness is my nature of procrastinating. It might not be true in all aspects of life, but I do postpone doing things I don’t like. For instance, starting that morning walk. Since nearly two weeks I have been planning to use the time I have in the morning. I wake up early and have some time left after helping around in the kitchen. I have been planning for long, to utilize this time for a morning walk and some studies. I followed it a couple of days and then I am back to square one. Every morning I end up thinking, I shall go tomorrow, for sure! Sometimes end up taking a small nap before getting ready for office. πŸ˜›

Any work assigned to me, I generally have the tendency to work on it, when it’s peak time. I am somehow able to work better then (or that’s what I tell myself!). Well whatever reason, I end up working more in the last few days than the first few of any task assignment. Which I know is bad! very bad! 😦 Today I was able to fix an issue at work much before the deadline, coz I made up my mind to work on it and finish it today! How I wish I could be like this everyday. But I slip. 😦

Even blogging, I have a few things I wanna write about, I login into WordPress, start reading all the posts from the blogs I am following and by the end of it, somehow the ideas in my head don’t look good enough and I log off thinking I will write some other time.

Another weakness is my anger. I am short tempered. I have worked on it a lot and it’s not as bad as it was a couple of years ago. There’s more I can do to improve it, which I am not doing. More often than not, I end up talking rudely, in anger, for which I repent later. I apologize wherever it’s due and people who know me, let it go (coz they know me!). But it shouldn’t be that way!! I should not talk when angry. I should give it a thought when calm and respond appropriately. The latest victim for all my anger explosions has been Bg. 😦 I so badly don’t want it to be that way, but I lose control. But he being the more mature one (obviously!) understands and knows when to talk to me. 😦 I feel SO guilty about it!

I am sure I have many other weaknesses too, just that these two seem to be the major problems right now. Do you have a weakness? What do you do to overcome them??

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Tatsat says:

    Procastination or “engineers’ syndrome”, as I like to call it, is something that comes up every now and then even for me 😦 And anger, well… I guess I am fine on that front, or so I am told. I am not known to vent it out verbally. Rather, I am a cold blooded strategist πŸ˜‰

    Good to see that you are looking to fix these. Atleast you have made a start.

    I think my biggest weakness, and an asset as well, is overcommittment. I overdo things. If I think something is worth doing, I do it even if the investment seems to be going bad in the middle of it. After much thought, I am trying to maintain a little bit of distance from people ( that is one stupid way of living but I guess I have no other way ). I also screen the books I read and the projects I undertake. Used to be a lot more free spirited you know…

    1. LOL at the “Engineer’s syndrome” πŸ˜€

      Hmm.. I really think it takes a lot of courage to be committed to do what you want. I totally admire such a quality.

      Every person is or becomes what he/she is based on their experiences in life. Nothing’s right or wrong. We are all learning and sometimes we also realize what we previously learnt was wrong and we learn something new. It keeps going on…

  2. bedazzledeternally says:

    I am too short-tempered and sensitive for my good . To add to that I don’t have a single diplomatic gene in my body .. And there you have it .. Perfect recipe for a disaster.. I can think of many more weaknesses , but these take the cake and do the maximum damage most of the times.. BLogrolling you.. Love the open , frank way in which you write..

    1. Thanks for the appreciation! πŸ™‚
      Undiplomatic and short-temper? Haha πŸ™‚ Deadly combo there!
      Hope you and I are able to work on our temper. But you shouldn’t give up your undiplomatic nature. I think it’s a good thing!

  3. haddock54 says:

    Procrastination is the enemy number one for all I suppose.

  4. Mi says:

    I am with you achu… I can so relate to this post 😦 πŸ˜‰

    1. Hugs! We are all same same but different. πŸ˜‰

Share your thoughts...

