Movie Tales

on

“Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani”. After waiting from a month (don’t ask me why! I just wanted to go to a movie. It had been too long.) for the movie to release. We booked tickets for the Saturday, just a day after the release. The day was cloudy and it was sure to rain. I told Bg, let’s go by car. But he was sure that it wouldn’t start raining so early!

The movie show was at 6 pm and we started from home at 4.45 pm, by a two wheeler. The theater was specifically chosen by my husband. It’s one of the old theaters in Bangalore. You know the kind we used to have before the Multiplex boom. The one with a HUGE screen with a Stall, Mini-Balcony and Balcony. It’s a nice theater and both of us like it. The rates are reasonable too. The only problem was that it’s far from our house, around 45 min drive. Well, we started and got struck in the horrible traffic jam, at about halfway itself! Then, when we were about 350 meters from the theater, with the traffic moving in inches, it started to pour! So heavily!

We reached the theater all drenched and were able to enter late, a good five min into the movie! Missed the first scene, as always! 😑 I so hate it when that happens. I love watching the trailers of the other movies, shown in the beginning. Well all done, we settled down to watch the movie. I enjoyed the movie! Of course with a lot of popcorn and chips (which was not so alarmingly expensive, as in a multiplex!)

Overall, I think the movie is entertaining with Ranbir being great, as always! Though Deepika is not all that good at acting, she looks gorgeous! The amazing smile she has. πŸ™‚ I liked Kalki and Aditya too. I love the songs, have been listening to them continuously for a while now. I think there’s a perfect mixture of melodious and peppy songs in the movie. If you haven’t heard the songs yet, go check it out here – YJHD. Sreeram sounds awesome in Subhanallah! For those who are not aware, Sreeram was the winner of Indian Idol 5 and has an amazing voice! If you listen to some of the songs he sung on the contest, you’ll be floored too. πŸ™‚

I was wondering.. Of the Bollywood father-son duo, I think only Rishi Kapoor and Ranbir Kapoor have both been successful in their career. Otherwise amongst the other pairs, like Dharmendra-Sunny/Bobby Deol, Rakesh-Hrithik Roshan, Big B-AB, Suresh-Vivek Oberoi, mostly either one of them haven’t had a very flourishing career. All that aside, it’s refreshing to watch Ranbir on screen. πŸ™‚

Even though I was shivering with being drenched, I had a great time!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. greenboochi says:

    I share a similar experience of sitting all drenched in a movie hall.. πŸ™„

    Glad you had a nice time in spite of initial hiccups πŸ™‚

  2. Mi says:

    Wow…we went on friday..at the gopalan cinemas, old madras road… and it was raining when we were going there too.. .same experience with the traffic as well! And yeah, I missed the first 10 minutes as well.. LOL..what a co-incidence! πŸ˜€ but i wasn’t drenched.. my friend drove me in her car.. so πŸ˜‰

    Also,.. i loved the movie too… sans the length and loved RK <3.. i think u wrote exactly what i would have written @YJHD experience!

    Also…Songs… Love! ❀

    1. Awesome!! πŸ™‚
      LOL at the coincidence! πŸ˜€
      Feels so great to read that you had a similar experience. πŸ™‚

  3. Tatsat says:

    I could even dare. I have always hated Padukone, for doing what she has done till now- which basically is, nothing πŸ˜‰ Maybe she finally did something in this movie.
    Tickets are too costly here, and transport is tiring as well. But, I going to watch The Man Of Steel- a friend will be coming over on 16th.

    I like the old theatres actually. How come you guys into all that ? I think its a great place to have real nice time. Multiplexes lack the personal touch.
    Getting drenched, filmi style? Like the good old hindi movies ? Remember that song from Namak Halal with Smita Patil and Amitabh πŸ˜‰ Romantic πŸ™‚

    1. Haha πŸ˜› No filmi style πŸ˜› Was stuck in jam!!

      Why shouldn’t we like old theaters?? You make us sound us like the spoiled kids, who like only expensive branded stuff πŸ˜› πŸ™‚

      1. Tatsat says:

        Arre nai nai… Not you as such, it is for the mall-obsessed-lot out there. There are only few of us who like it the old school way 😦

        When you come around here, I will take both of you to a theatre which was probably built 55 years back ( around the time of independence ) and smells amazing. My treat πŸ™‚

        1. yay! πŸ™‚ that sounds great! πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts...

