The show must go on…

on

The last month has been emotional. It’s strange isn’t it, how when we have some reason to feel sad about, we also have some reason to smile about and then we are caught up with these mixed feelings and thoughts as to how our state of mind should actually be. We also have things that we have to carry on doing and we are forced to move ahead, though the mind wants to stay still and be in a particular phase of time.

A close friend of mine is expecting and the news brought me great joy! With all warnings from the doctors about the chances being difficult due to her ovarian cysts, this news gave great relief and happiness to all of us.

Another friend who has been close since school days had a baby boy this month. After having a perfectly filmy style wedding – North Indian Rajput guy, South Indian Brahmin girl, who eloped and got married, they both settled in London. The news and pics of the tiny guy made us so happy! The guy and girl’s parents who were pretty pissed with the wedding are overjoyed at seeing the photos of the grandchild. My friend’s mom has in fact gone to London, to take care of her and the baby. 🙂

On the other hand, one other friend who was going through a lot, since her wedding a year and half back, announced the terrible news that she is going through a divorce. The last year had been really long and full of struggles for her. Having tried everything from adjusting to fighting, compromising to taking a break, visiting a counselor to having the family members talk to him, she had to eventually take this decision. Personally, I think it is good for her. I know it’s easy to talk from a third person’s point of view, but having seen her go through the things she went through, from the day one of her wedding, I feel she will be better off without him. I know it’s difficult for her to see the light at the end of the tunnel, right now. I really do pray and hope that things take a good turn in her life and she gets all the happiness she deserves.

Mom and we are back at work, trudging ahead as certain responsibilities beckon us to be back up again! I think it’s good for mom to be amidst her friends at office. She’ll be comfortable. After having been with mom for three weeks, I am now juggling between the two houses, spending 3-4 days a week in both places. After endless nights of crying myself to sleep, I am now able to fall asleep due to all the exhaustion. I am trying to keep myself busy in the empty time, to prevent the mind from dwelling and mulling over the same thoughts. Completed knitting a sweater for the hubby, another one in progress for the baby boy I mentioned above and crocheting an afghan (maybe for myself!). The hands are busy with the stitches and the mind gets occupied with what stitch comes next. Here’s a sneak peek –

Hubby’s grey and black sweater.
Baby sweater in making.
Blanket in progress!

Will post pictures of the finished items, when complete. 🙂

16 Comments Add yours

  1. greenboochi says:

    Lovely pieces all of them! I admire people who can knit so well, I am always challenged there. Hubby is overwhelmed with joy? That too with nights getting really colder in Bangalore these days 🙂

    I am glad things are slowly falling back into places again. I know its still hard, but what to do life has to go on.

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much GB! 🙂
      Yeah he’s happy. Yet to use it though..

  2. Tatsat says:

    How are you even able to manage knitting in your work schedules and, of coruse, the domestic things going on? 🙂

    Divorce is not a bad thing, if before the birth of child. I mean I know culture is not supportive of women who take that decision but if you live in cities, it really does not matter anymore. I know someone who divorced within a month 🙂 And she is one fine woman!

    Good to know about someone fighting for love. Sometimes, one derives happiness from others’ accomplishments in battle they fought and lost. Great news indeed.

    I think it is important for her to be with colleagues. Sitting in home will be ghastly. So it is actually a good move.

    1. Arch says:

      It’s nothing to do with time.. If I am in the mood, I knit late into nights, otherwise I don’t touch it for months! 🙂

  3. Good to hear all this Arch! 🙂 Little holes of daylight in darkness is always refreshing 🙂

    And my my! Whatte knitting! I used to be proud of a half made stole with simple single knit 😛 And now, you make me want to push myself ! But seriously, you are managing time so neatly! I guess if you love something, you will always find the time for it 🙂 No?

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you! 🙂

      Me and time management? Never! I knit in the time when I have to be studying and looking for a job change. I browse patterns when I have to be working. 😛 But I do like spending time on creating this knitted items. Gives a sense of satisfaction! 🙂

  4. Archita says:

    Those beautiful sweaters..:) I’m happy to find you better 🙂 tc:)

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you! 🙂

  5. Mi says:

    Arch….girl…you are a saviour… Tell me where did u get the wool from… since the time i came to bangalore i’ve been looking for wool so that i start knitting too 😦 but I couldnt find it in malls or small cloth shops! 😦
    Help me please!

    1. Arch says:

      Hey! That’s not a problem at all.
      one of the places is –
      Surya Emporium
      325 Narayana Pillai Street (Off Commercial Street)

      It is in one of the by-lanes opposite to the commercial street police station. Apart from this you can find wool in a lot of shops in Raja Market, which I doubt you would have heard of or visited. But sadly the only kind of wool we find in India is the acrylic type.

      So glad to know your are interested in knitting. You gotta check out http://www.ravelry.com, the website for knitting/crocheting. I am part of a group called South Asian Crafters. They also have a list of supply stores, identified by people, in different parts of India! Happy knitting. Mail me if you want any more details. 🙂

  6. Mi says:

    btw… for all the goods and bads… one should know, that it’s a cycle.. .we have to live our share of both! 🙂

  7. Mi says:

    sounds amazing! thanks a ton! And considering your knitting skills, I think i need lessons from you. 🙂 ill mail you if i wanna know more! hugs!

    1. Arch says:

      Youtube is all you need my dear friend! That’s where I learnt everything. Btw forgot to point you to http://ponycraftstore.com/ You can buy some of the imported yarns here, online. 🙂

  8. Filter Kaapi says:

    Whoa sweaters look super cute.
    It is such a warm and fuzzy feeling, when you see your friends turn into ‘moms’ 🙂 And, when I see those rare instances of broken marriage, I am at a loss of words and just can’t stop blaming life for taking the innocence out of them… I mean, didn’t we always think that the exam next day was the toughest thing in life?! How I wish the exam was the only toughest thing in life.. Siigh

    1. Arch says:

      Hey! Thanks for dropping by to read! 🙂
      Yeah.. That was indeed such a special time, when we thought exams were the toughest thing and that we would grow up and things would become easy. 😦

Share your thoughts...

