Of jobs, duties and exhaustion!

on

If I have to describe the past few weeks in one word, it would be ‘Hectic’. The mental strain has been much more than the physical strain. And up there, when the pressure builds, I get all irritable, cranky and plain rude! I have lost most of the patience I had. I find it hard to repeat a thing more than once, be it in a conversation or any instruction. I get irritated. To top this, all the weariness has left me absentminded. I easily forget the little things (but of great importance). I once left my vehicle in the parking lot, with the keys for an entire day. I realized that only when I was about to leave and I started looking for them frantically. Luckily the vehicle was safe!

Arrgh! The banks and their procedures! They get onto to my nerves! Since dad passed away, the job of getting his accounts and deposits transferred to my mom, fell on us. With the sister being busy with the kid, I have been doing the running around for these jobs. The banks are really not helpful! First they have a whole lot of procedures in place, which is understandable owing to the fact that they deal with people’s hard earned money. But their attitude in general, trying put off the work to some other day is irritating. We get time mostly in the weekends and the banks generally have a half working day. But the people in some of these banks choose to close an hour or so before the declared timings! 😡 They ask us to come on weekdays, which really is not possible as we too have jobs to attend to.

Through my blog, I would like to request every reader, to kindly register a nominee for every account that you create in any bank. My dad has missed registering the nomination in a couple of banks. The procedure magnifies two-fold, if a nominee is not registered. 😦
One bank in particular left me astonished with the procedure they asked for. They need an affidavit and an indemnity bond along with the Death Certificate, a declaration from the children (that’s us) asking them to transfer the money to mom and other id proofs etc. The affidavit and indemnity needs to be prepared on a stamp paper, duly attested by the notary. Also, it has to be signed by four witnesses, two of whom have to even declare their assets and liabilities! The lady told me that these four people will have to come to the bank too, with their original id proof! 😮 I lost it! I asked her that how can she expect seven people (three of us and four witnesses) to make themselves free on the same day and appear before her. Also can she guarantee that the job will be done the same day? After consultation with another official, she settled for us coming and getting the id proofs of the other individuals. My sister went on to ask that how many people actually go through this procedure and take the amount, wouldn’t most of them just let it go? Her reply was that nominee unregistered cases are very rare. 😦

Apart from this, it being my first year of marriage, all the festivals were to be celebrated in full vigor at my mom’s place. But since that is not possible now, it is being done in the in-laws place. Though I don’t have any mood to celebrate anything, all the rules the society makes for us, leaves us with no choice. These festivities, the ceremonies, the poojas are associated with lot of work at home, which has to done despite returning home from work. I am exhausted!

On high priority on my list of things to do, was to look for a change of job. I finally mustered the courage to upload my CV and start taking the calls. Today I had my first telephonic interview. It didn’t go too well. But it was a first in the past five years and I did better than what I expected myself to. So I hope things only get better from here and I get a job offer in hand soon. Wish me luck!

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Archita says:

    All the best for job hunt 🙂 and don’t forget to have some “me-time” out of all things you do.:)

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks 😀 Right now, I am not finding time for myself.. I shall surely try!

  2. Tatsat says:

    You will be fine. And, I don’t say this because I know the future. But because I know a bit of your past… Hold on 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks! I hope so! 🙂

  3. motivatingria says:

    My grandparents died together, and they were always each others’s nominees..they asked my dad and my uncle a lot of times to be involved, but well, he never felt the need to be a ‘nominee’ for them.

    It took about 1.5 years just to open their locker, I have never seen so much paper work in my life..I say you should always list 2 nominees, you never know what happens in life 😦

    1. Arch says:

      Omg! That’s a situation even worse than ours! Hugs!
      Thanks for sharing your experience here. Means a lot!
      Thanks Ria for dropping by! 🙂

  4. Mi says:

    Wow..that sounded hectic.. I haven;t been here since a long time, i think!

    all the best with the job intrvws!! 🙂

Share your thoughts...

