SL Series – I (How it all began)

on

I am planning to write this series of posts about a lady whom I met and got to be friends with recently. Let’s call her SL.

SL is a colleague of mine at office. She came and joined our company for the position of a Technical Writer. When I heard from a friend that a 14 yrs experienced lady is about to join, I expected a really wise looking, middle aged, serious natured lady.

Like a majority of South Indians, named after a Goddess, SL who looked 30+ joined the company, one month later than expected. The normal assumption was that the lady would have another offer and must have gone there. But SL came to office after fighting a month of severe viral infection.

Initially I wasn’t very keen on talking to her. I am generally put off by people who talk too much and talk too loud. SL spoke nineteen to a dozen and she was loud. Just within few days of joining it seemed like she knew so many people! She is normal looking lady. With her thin hair drawn into a not so neat ponytail, slightly crooked teeth, bespectacled face and a belly which makes her look a few months pregnant, she is not someone whom a person would turn around and notice a second time.

When I happened to get a chance to sit with her a couple of times during coffee break, I realized she’s friendly and loves cracking jokes. She will tell and laugh loudly at the silliest of jokes. I was amazed at the number of stories she had to tell, every time. Having met a lot of people who speak a lot and not know a thing or whose time-pass is to cook up stories, I felt she maybe one among them too. But somewhere back in my mind a thought kept coming back and again –Β The happiest faces hide the deepest sorrows.

Then we became friends over coffee, lunch and spoke to lengths when I dropped her when riding back home. Me and another friend think, we can write a biography on her life. These posts are a small attempt to make note of how some people make the best of what they have! More on SL in the next post…

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Titaxy says:

    i want to read more…eagerly waiting. πŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Cuaght up with the festivities. Second post coming soon πŸ™‚

  2. Tatsat says:

    Intriguing.
    I do happen to share the same belief ( the happiest faces…), so it will be fun to read how this biopic pans out!

  3. Mi says:

    wow…series… I love this!! Glued! πŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      πŸ™‚ I hope you find the remaing posts equally interesting..
      Just a couple of things I gotta know from her life and felt there’s something to learn there…

Share your thoughts...

