A year of togetherness…

on

Bg and I completed a year of our marriage on the 18th. This had been a long year. A year of responsibilities. Having lost Dad, we had a lot of things to deal with. Though the first year of marriage wasn’t romantic and enjoyable as I was dreaming of, it taught me what’s more essential than romance and fun. It showed me that Bg standing with me and supporting me in my time of need was far more important than any romantic moments we might have had.

A page out of the book he gifted me with!
A page out of the book he gifted me with!

Some of his qualities irritate me. He is terribly lazy. Giving him a job means giving myself a job of reminding him hundred times! He l-o-v-e-s sleeping. Not that it’s bad, but sometimes it irritates me to see him lying all lazily sleeping till late morning, when I am running about doing all the chores. 😑

His annoying nature of staying silent and unresponsive when I am complaining about his mother or SIL. Him constantly picking up the same shirt and trousers and wearing it all the time, just because it’s lying outside. The clothes that I fold and keep in the cupboard remain untouched. If I cunningly fold all his clothes and put everything in the cupboard, he will magically find something lying outside – hung to dry, his brother’s shirt etc. I h-a-t-e this. I have hidden away a few shirts of his coz I was bored seeing him in the same clothes all the time. 😐

Though these things annoy me a lot, I love the core person he is. I will never trade his other good qualities even if I have to put up with his lazy nature all my life. His calm and composed nature, of assessing the situation before jumping to conclusions or giving comments. His always-available-for-the-family nature.

While I crib so much that I don’t get to meet my friends or have fun anymore, he so beautifully accepts the fact that this is a different phase in his life. He says he has had great time with his friends, now is the time for me and the family. πŸ™‚ He is non-fussy about food and will adjust to anything. He will happily stay with me at my mom’s place, not making it mandatory that we return back to the in-laws place the same day. He knows that my anger subsides as fast as it raises, he waits for that. πŸ™‚

Some special moments stand out in my mind, which I hold very close to my heart –

β™₯Β When they were taking away Dad, I was the only one who wasn’t crying, shattered and broken on the inside, but wanting to be strong the outside. On the other hand Bg hugged me and cried bitterly. πŸ˜₯

β™₯ He had gone back home just then after staying in the hospital all night, sleepless. But he rushed back to the hospital when I called him up and told him that “Something’s going wrong, they are saying it’s serious. I want you here, please come soon.”

β™₯ Taking me to mom’s place almost every weekend just because I want to be there.

β™₯ Taking care of and helping me with the various bank/property/pension formalities related to dad. Driving mom to so many places for these jobs. Taking her and my granny to all their doctor appointments and check ups.

β™₯ Massaging my knees to make me feel better and reduce the knee pain which I have been suffering from the past few months.

β™₯ Licking away the Maggi I make with all tomatoes and onions and keep asking for it frequently indicating that he loves it.

β™₯ Get me a cup of coffee every time I ask for it. Reprimand me for drinking so much coffee, but never failing to get me one when I ask for it, no matter what time it is and where we are. Once it was 10.30 in the night and all shops were closed. He drove around many streets to finally find a shop and get me my cup of coffee. πŸ™‚

Words that I should actuaylly be telling him.
Words that I should actually be telling him.

The anniversary was a quiet one (except for my complaints) coz he had office work. We went out in the evening to the temple, where our match was fixed and we had a quick dinner outside. We went to Yercaud for a weekend stay along with his friends and it turned out to be a lovely getaway after a really long time. πŸ™‚

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Mi says:

    Wow… Happy Anniversary, belated! I love such happy posts! πŸ™‚ It’s been a long time I’ve read something this nice and joyful..touchwood..

    God bless you and may your lives be filled with love love and more love! πŸ™‚

    Hugs

    1. Arch says:

      πŸ˜€
      Thank you sooo much! πŸ™‚

  2. greenboochi says:

    Such a warm post Arch! Happy 1st Anniversary πŸ™‚ Wishing you both all the best things in life πŸ™‚ Stay blessed.

    I could easily relate to this post, for S is exactly like Bg and I am more like you.

    This post filled my heart with happiness, hugs Arch! πŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much GB! πŸ™‚

  3. Titaxy says:

    such a lovely post, arch. happy anniversary to you and bg. may this love and togetherness only grow with time.

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you T!! πŸ™‚

  4. Tatsat says:

    This is just the begining I believe. Amazing things are waiting to happen for you Arch πŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

  5. Happy anniversary. I have few of those complaints about my husband too, like wearing the same clothes that are lying outside. But only when we are feeling down do we realize how much our husbands care for us, right?
    Wishing you many more years of togetherness.

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you AK! πŸ™‚
      Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to comment.

  6. Ramya says:

    Happy Anniversary Arch! May you both enjoy being together ! And wishing you many many more πŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Ramya! πŸ™‚

  7. Stay blessed always πŸ™‚ Wishing you many many years of togetherness and such beautiful moments.

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much Kismi! πŸ™‚

  8. This is such a beautiful post..there was a smile on my face throughout πŸ™‚
    Wish you many many more years of love, happiness and togetherness πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts...

