Entries from the Diary – I

on
Sometimes when I have this huge urge to write what’s on my mind and I cannot login to WordPress to blog, I write it down in my diary. Whenever I feel like sharing any of it here, I will put it down as Entries in the Diary from now on.

 

The one major thing that I really need to do at this point of time is FOCUS. I have always sucked at it. But we’ll let that go because I am writing for being able to improve it and not complain about how bad I am at it.

Focus is all about being totally involved in the task at hand. Usually when I sit down to study, I remember all the other thing I have to do. For instance, fold the clothes, iron them, knit, update my stash on ravelry, call up mom, eat something, pee and about a million other things. This results in a hopeless waste of time and no good end result.

The trick is all about doing one thing at a time. As I write this, my mind is telling me I should blog about this and is also trying to over-hear what my FIL and MIL are talking.

From now on I am going to put a constant effort in picking one thing at a time and seeing it to completion. For now my focus has to be on cracking the client interview. So I will keep myself off ravelry for two weeks till the interview. I make peace with myself that it’s ok not to knit.

Also I will delegate a few tasks to others, so I don’t keep getting distracted about other chores. When I need to take a break, I will read a novel or blog or simply talk to someone. For now, I wanna finish writing my thoughts, get it out of my system and focus.

Another thing I have noticed, I keep using the phrases “Let’s see….”, “Will try…” etc. a lot, as if putting the weight or responsibilities on time or some other factor. I will put a constant effort to stop using such phrases and be affirmative in my statements, like using a Yes or No.

From now, my efforts to focus begin. My latest inspiration is Randy Pausch and I am totally blown away by his book “The Last Lecture”. I am late in reading it, but better late than never! I am planning to keep a pic of his on my desk, when my workplace get set up, to keep the inspiration coming.

Wishing myself luck!

Wishing you guys a lovely weekend and a great week ahead!
8 Comments Add yours

  1. All the best Arch šŸ™‚ The first step is the introspection and identifying what you need to do. You have been focussed to do that, so wishing you more of this šŸ™‚ I haven’t heard of that book – hmm, something to add to my reading list : I can do with a bit of focus as well šŸ˜›

    1. Arch says:

      Hey Kismi! Long time no see…
      The book is about a last lecture that a proffesor named Randy Pausch gave at the CMU. A beautiful book. You must read it.
      Thanks for the lovely comment, it boosts me to do better. šŸ™‚

  2. Mi says:

    Diary writing is good. I always do it.

    Attention span and focus has always been a problem for me, especially when I am wroking. And that part has proven detrimental so many times. I am flipping manuals, then I am hitting webpages, blog hopping, working a little and then back on my phone, it’s crazy. The only thing that I pay total attention is when I amwriting. That has never had any diversions yet.

    Hope it works out for you. And if does, let me know how you did it! šŸ™‚

    don’t get me started on “yes and no”. I suck at that, so I won’t comment! šŸ˜€

    Randy Pausch’s speech on youtube is equally good. Same as the book, ie. I have read this book twice, and everytime there is something new to learn. On similar lines, may I suggest you to read Mitch Albom’s – Tuesdays with Morrie. Am sure you will love it! šŸ™‚ Infact all Mitch’s reads are awesome. You would also love “For one more day”, “Five people you meet in heaven”.. Please don’t miss this author!!

    All the best for the interview, let us know how it went! šŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      You sound like me… That’s how I am when working.. šŸ˜¦

      I haven’t heard the speech. I should do it.. And I have read Tuesdays with Morrie. šŸ™‚ Liked it too… I have heard a lot about the other book too, but haven’t found it whenever I looked for it.
      I have a list of books that I want to read. I recently became a member at JustBooks and I get to search for specific books and reserve them too. Yay šŸ™‚ . So I am gonna find that book. Thanks for the comment Mi! šŸ™‚

  3. Tatsat says:

    I read that book way back. Can’t say whether it changed my life or not, but maybe it did impact me in some subtle ways. Not sure, but I want to think so.

    As for the other things, I want to tell you one single thing- don’t be so hard on yourself šŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      I am horrible on myself and I know that. Somehow cannot stop myself.. šŸ˜¦

  4. I love the name of your blog..
    and I ma gonna check out that book soon! šŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Hey Swati! Welcome here. šŸ™‚
      I am so glad you like the blog name. Hope you enjoy reading my posts too! šŸ™‚

Share your thoughts...

