2013 – Curtains Down

on

It is that time of the year when we reflect on how were the days which went by. I used to do a year-end round-up post on my old blog too. Not following that format I decided to go random in putting down how this year had been for me.

Whenever I thought of what this year had for me, all I could think of was my father’s death. Mi did a great post on how her year was. That inspired me to think of the things that made me happy too. Overall I think my year was filled with a lot of events, good, bad and ugly.

In Jan, I started to blog again. Here in my new space people welcomed me so warmly. All the friends I made here made me feel totally at home. I feel at peace whenever I put down my thoughts here. Over the year, the little voice in my head, which is the theme of my blog, grew louder and crazier, sometimes causing me immense distress and sometimes consoling.

Feb came and I looked forward to celebrating Bg’s birthday and my birthday, which fall on consecutive days. It was nice planning for it and enjoying the first celebration post the wedding. I got the chance to make a quick trip to Chennai and meet my buddies. I spent an awesome two years with them there and going back there, makes me happy each time.

March saw me getting into new project at work and was spent trying to cope with the new ways of the new team and trying to stay calm despite the hassles that came with it. I bought my Ray at the end of that month.

I started riding to office on it from April and totally loved it! It made me feel good and independent. Six months since my wedding, I was trying gel with the people in the household and learning the ways of the new place. I grew in unknown ways and learnt a lot of things!

May saw us kick off the house construction project. Bg and his bro finally decided to go for it after years of contemplating. The formal pooja was done and work was kicked off. The loss incurred due to the borewell failure brought with it a lot off speculation, but they went ahead and now the construction work is halfway in progress. 🙂

June! This month is never gonna be the same again. It will forever bring with it the harsh memories of losing my Dad. Someone who was hale and hearty and who walked up to the hospital, complaining of chest pain. It was diagnosed as a heart attack and was followed up by Angiogram and Angioplasty. After recovering well for a day, his conditions suddenly fell and he couldn’t withstand the pain and decided to bid us goodbye.

Post the incident, all of July was spent in trying to find ways to cope with the loss. After staying with my mom for nearly a month, I had to come back and resume with my office and other duties. Mom too got back to work and all of us were trying hard to live without Dad.

August was all about managing life. It turned out extremely hectic with all the running around for the banks, insurance, vehicle and car related stuff. Everything had to be sorted and put into place. Mom wouldn’t be able to do it. Most things are now settled though not completely. The only breather was my nephew’s b’day, who turned 3 years old. The kiddo’s first question to my mom when she entered the house that day was, “Where is thatha*?” 😦

Things got into a routine and I needed a change! Having got sick of my project and the attitude of the seniors in the team, in September I finally decided to start the job hunt! I picked up the courage and uploaded my CV and started preparing for and attending interviews. Some went partly well, some I fell face down! Finally I got through the interview of my current company in mid September. Then began the wait for them to make the job offer and eagerness to quit my current company.

In October the sent me the offer letter and I put down my papers. My project was apparently in a bad shape and they were more than happy to release me. 😐 This threw the things a bit off-track as I had requested for the Date of Joining, two months later, considering the notice period. I made an early exit from the company, deciding to take a break in the month and half ahead of me.

I spent November attending a few more odd interviews, meeting up friends, spending more than week at mom’s house, attending a friend’s wedding and celebrating my first wedding anniversary. No big plans, just some time together.

December saw me joining my new workplace, exactly 5 years later since I started working. So far it has been studying all the time for a client interview, which will get me into a project. My Dad and Mom’s birthday falls in this month, exactly a week apart! Huge plans of dad’s b’day went away with him and Mom didn’t enjoy her b’day without him either.

This became a long post. But it has indeed been a long year for me, unlike the usual ones which just whiz past. Though 2013 wouldn’t be one of the years which I will count as great, it still gave me a lot of things to be thankful for! 🙂

Am looking forward to facing 2014 with a lot more confidence and courage. Taking things head-on and making the best of what comes my way! Looking forward to positive events and happiness for all. Wishing you guys a very Happy and Prosperous New Year, 2014! I hope to see you guys here, in the coming year too. 🙂

*Thatha – Grandfather. (In Kannada)

10 Comments Add yours

  1. greenboochi says:

    Hugs Arch! I am sure 2014 would be a better year for all of us.

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks GB! 🙂

  2. Mi says:

    I wish 2014 is an amazing year for you and your family…
    Happy New Year Arch! 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks Mi! 🙂 Wish you the same!

  3. Arch.. wish you a very happy 2014.. stay safe and stay blessed. Keep smiling 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Kismi! Wishing you an awesome year too. 🙂

  4. Really sorry to hear about your father. Hoping that 2014 will be a better year. Happy new year 🙂
    Btw are you a kannadiga? I am one too.

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you! 🙂 A very Happy New Year to you too…
      Wow! That’s lovely.. Feels great to meet a fellow Kannadiga in the blogosphere. 🙂

  5. TTS says:

    So sorry to read about your Dad. I love the way you have summarised each month. While I have a wishlist for 2014, I never summarised my 2013. Will try it out!
    -TTS

    1. Arch says:

      Hey TTS! Welcome here. Thanks for the comment. 🙂
      I am glad you liked my post! Do write yours, will look forward to reading it.

Share your thoughts...

