Amma

on

I went over to my mom’s place on Friday night and stayed till the Saturday night. It was just my Amma, Ajji and Me. I felt at home 🙂 . That feeling I still miss here. Well this post is not gonna be about how I still don’t feel at home here.

When I was there this time, me, mom and granny were chatting about a lot of stuff and like I usually do, I made my mom take a day off from work. 😀 We completed a few outdoor tasks that were pending and the rest of the day we were just lying about chatting, watching tv etc. I was hogging on a whole lot of pomegranate. Something that I love, but am to lazy to do all the hard work of peeling. But my granny does that for me everytime I visit. 🙂

My mom and I were watching Stuart Little on TV. I have watched it a whole lot of times, but for mom it was the first time. It made me so happy to see her laugh heartily at some of the scenes, forgetting every damn thing in the world. I felt so peaceful that day, to see my mom laugh after a long time. She was so fascinated with the movie and kept appreciating the creative thinking behind it. I was just glad that it was aired on TV, that particular day, when I could enjoy it with my mom. 🙂

I just feel bad that she and granny have to stay there all by themselves. I used to keep insisting that she shifts closer to us. But she wasn’t open to that idea. She said she doesn’t wanna leave that house at least for a year. On one occasion when I was again hinting at her shifting, she retorted saying she doesn’t like it when I keep telling her the same thing. She said, she feels that I say it because it’s difficult for me to keep going to visit her every weekend. 😦 I was hurt that day and told her that I will never mention it again. Though I haven’t mentioned it in front of her again, deep in my heart I really want her to stay close to us. For her security, for our reassurance and for me to be able to see her more often. Sigh! I hope we find an agreement some time in the near future at least.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Titaxy says:

    how wonderful it is to spend a day with amma without any other distractions, right? i hope she moves close to you, sooooon. hugs.

  2. Mi says:

    good to know that you had a nice time spending that day with your mom. I think asking parents to get away from their comfort zone is a tad difficult. She must have stayed in the house for a long time, and moving would seem giving away a lot of memories and good times.. That’s why perhaps she is reluctant. My mom gives me this reason when i ask her if she would move in with me in my new house!

    1. Arch says:

      Yeah she has been there since 25 years… I know it’s difficult for her. So it is for me too, to lose the touch with OUR home.. But we have to be practical, don’t we?

  3. Lavender says:

    Spending time with amma is always special and wonderful na? Hope she moves closer to you soon. Arch, this is my first visit to your blog and I am Lavender! 🙂 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Hey Lavender! Welcome here. 🙂
      Thanks for the comment.. I hope my mom agrees soon.

  4. Deepa says:

    I felt the same way when I visited home this time .. me, ajji and amma … spent quite a lot of time talking ! 3 generations of ladies ! And you know a funny thing, when I looked at a couple of snaps we took, it was like seeing replicas of each other !!!

    Also, your mom would have her own circle around her house … moving to a new place would get boring for her … it happened with my pati … she’d get bored within 3 weeks of coming and living with us…

    1. Arch says:

      Oh cool! You know we too,my mom,ajji,sis and me had taken a pic recently. I love that pic! 🙂
      With my mom it is not about her circle of friends.. Its more about the memories associated with the house…
      Thanks for comment Deepa. Welcome here. 🙂

Share your thoughts...

