A great way to begin the week!

on

Today has been a good Monday, in a long long time! I used to hate the feel of Mondays. The dread of having to wake up and go to office after the two whole days of staying at home, usually starts creeping in at Sunday noon itself. I get all grumpy and sulky by Sunday evenings. To add to it the last few months have been tough and the urge to go to office was nil! 😦

One of the things that made me look forward to today was a resolve I made last week. That was to wake up early. Though I used to wake up 6 before as well, I used to help around in the kitchen and then go back and sleep for a while. My typical manner of getting up was snoozing a million times and then jump out of bed looking at the time and realizing that it was late. I used to hate doing that. I love the feel in the air that’s there early in the morning. But I was too lazy to do anything to enjoy it.

After reading a whole lot of articles last week and realizing that it’s about time I did something about it. I just decided on Thursday that I would wake up by 6 and be up after that from the next day. Do anything I like, but not go back to bed. Sunday is the only day I get to sleep in till 8. To help me out, I got my best friend to make a deal – that we would both be up by 6 and sms each other. So Friday I was up and about, clueless of what to do. I had some hot coffee and took a bath and had loads of time on hand, so I painted my nails pink! 😛

Saturday was better since my mom and granny were at our place, so I was up helping around in the kitchen to fix breakfast for all of us. But today was best! I woke up and after the usual helping around, I went for a walk, at 6:30 AM. It felt awesome! 🙂 Having rained last night, there was a slight chill in the air. The leaves looked bright green and almost all trees were filled with the fresh new leaves, light green in color, the ones that come with the onset of spring and early summer! Many trees were blossoming, filled with pink, purple, yellow flowers (one of things I love most about Bangalore!). I walked till the park enjoying the fresh air and the sight. Took three rounds around and then got into the park.

There were so many people there! I was ashamed at myself! When so many people can wake up and care for their health, why is it so difficult for me? There was a group of people there, senior citizens, part of a laughter club, who where having a great time, laughing loudly and exercising. They were mock-shooting at each other and laughing aloud. It was great to watch them! I sat down on the bench for a while, watching everyone and smiling. I then came back home, got ready and came to office. I am feeling light and relaxed since morning. The head seemed cleared unlike the usual days. 🙂

Wait! The icing on the cake is that, at lunch today, I got a call that I cleared the client interview I attended last Wednesday. 🙂 So I finally got a project! The date of reporting etc. is yet to be communicated. But the call made my already made day better! 🙂 So wasn’t it a great Monday?? 🙂

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Titaxy says:

    that is so nice to hear, Arch. I want to do something about my sleep habits as well. I sleep till 8 or later every morning, which sucks. I want to be a morning person, but don’t know where to / how to start with the whole wake up early thing 😦 good for you, though. keep it up.

    and congratulations on landing a project. best wishes.

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much T! 🙂

  2. What a lovely day! 🙂 Hope this keeps going for you Arch. I was a just-in-time riser who converted to early rise for a month now and I can’t tell you how awesome it feels. I am up by 5 and leave only by 6:50 – so, K and i have hot breakfast, catch up with some news and sometimes watch a part of a movie as well. It is an amazing feeling. Now, I want to make it slightly more productive 😛
    I want to share this – this habit is for keeps. I hope you will retain this for a long time coz’ it si an awesome feeling! 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Kismi! 🙂 I too hope I keep up this habit, for my own good. 🙂

    2. arch! I knew I had forgotten something. Wish you lots of luck with the project 🙂 You go, girl! 🙂

      1. Arch says:

        Thank you so much!! 😀 😀

  3. greenboochi says:

    Wow! I am so liking this post 🙂

  4. Mi says:

    wow…this is so amazing!! 🙂 if you managed to wake up… nothing like it… I’ll do one happy post too, the day I manage to see 6.30 am of the day 😀

    and congrats on clearing the interview… have a great project.. 😛

    1. Arch says:

      thank you Mi! 🙂

  5. Ramya says:

    Arch, Double kudos!! for the clinet interview thing and most importantly the waking up..I’m just not able to do that Arch..Will take inspiration from you and there have been umpppteeen times where I have resolved to wake up early next day onwards only to give up..Let me try again from tomorow!

    1. Arch says:

      thank you Ramya! Good luck to you! I am sure you can do it too. 🙂

  6. Congrats on clearing the client interview Arch. Happy for you. 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you AK! 🙂

Share your thoughts...

