Anne

We, my sister and me were exposed to the world of books a pretty young age; when we were in school itself. Our school at that point in time used to give away books as prizes for the annual competitions. I personally think it was a great idea to give books, instead of the usual cups, medals etc. But just like every other school, by the time I reached the high school, they joined league of giving away cups/medals. :-/

But while the time lasted, my sis and me had won lots of books.Β So we had some great books at home! One of them, led me into the world of Anne! That book was Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery.

Anne of Green Gables
Anne of Green Gables

Marilla and Matthew want to adopt a boy and have made arrangements for the same. But when Matthew reaches the station to receive the boy, he is surprised to find that they have sent a girl; Anne. From there it’s all about Anne’s story on Prince Edward Island. How Matthew loves her, how she grows on to Marilla and how she joins school and all her tales.

The Anne series consists of 5 – 6 books. I read all the books. It was amazing! It is probably the only other set of books that I have read umpteen times, other than the Harry Potter series!

I cried when Anne cried, I laughed when she laughed, I adored the twins – Davy and Dora whom she adored and I fell in love with the love story of Anne and Gilbert! I remember my sister forbidding me to read the books of the series, in which Anne falls in love with Gilbert and they get married. I was in school and my sister didn’t want me to start dreaming of falling in love at such a young age ( yeah my sis was like a second mother to me ). πŸ˜€ But when I did read those books, aaahh.. so magical, falling in love seemed. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I think I read those books at the perfect age! If you haven’t then you should definitely read it sometime. Maybe you could make your child read it and you could read along too. πŸ™‚

P.S: I decided to take up the A-Z blogging challenge for April. No formal enrollment etc. Just me writing everyday for 26 days, for the 26 alphabets. I hope I stick to it. πŸ™‚

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Visha says:

    If an HP lover recommends a series, I am game for it πŸ˜‰
    I have never heard of this set of books, thanks for the reco Arch πŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Do read it and let me know what you felt about it. πŸ™‚

  2. paatiamma says:

    I love Anne of Green gables too!! The author’s description of nature is so fabulous..I still have an e-copy which I read whenever I wanna add colors to the otherwise drab routine!

    1. Arch says:

      Absolutely! The author writes so well that you can almost imagine the picturesque location! I love it! πŸ™‚

  3. Titaxy says:

    i have not read this one, but will do so soon. thanks for the recommendation, arch

    1. Arch says:

      I am glad you are gonna read it. Hope you like it! Do let me know. πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts...

