Expectations…

… the thing that is one of the main reasons for my disappointment and depression, most of the times.

These expectations I really really wanna give up!!! But it’s so hard 😑

* Expectation of love, care, concern from the MIL.

* Expectation of help, cordiality or friendship from the teammates.

* Expectation from friends to come down, call, meet or miss me as much as I miss them.

* Expectation from family, sister, cousins to visit me at my place.

* Expectation from the husband to prioritize me over a certain other things, be more romantic and not act like an oldie.

* Expectation from myself to be perfect, to please everyone, to achieve everything, to be happy always, to get more sleep, to finish all tasks and more…

10 Comments Add yours

  1. paatiamma says:

    Dont worry Arch! The tide will turn around. Wish for exactly what you want specifically and write it up somewhere. After a couple of years do a review..You would have got what you wished for. You only have to give some time and be nice to the people from whom you expect niceness from!

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks paatiamma! I will try out what you told, will write it down and review. I am trying my best, being as nice as possible. I am trying hard coz I don’t want to spoil the relationships from my end at least.

      1. paatiamma says:

        That is so very nice of you!! This too will pass yaar!

  2. greenboochi says:

    Take it easy Arch. Hugs to you! *Do you want to try out Tharani’s circle game that she mentioned in one of the posts?*

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks GB! Yeah I remember Tharani’s gam. You’re right, maybe I should try that out!

  3. Tatsat says:

    Well expectations are what make us human. Machines and codes do not exact. It is this incalculable, irrational aspect of life that defines us- for good or bad. And, they are not as bad as they are portrayed to be. They are genuine expectations- at least the ones that you have put up here πŸ™‚

    But expectations are a two way process. Can not, and should not, work on our one-sided demands right? So the more important question is this: is the person loved enough, by me, to be subjected to expectations πŸ™‚ If the answer is NO- love the person more. If YES, go the question again πŸ˜›

    1. Arch says:

      I try my best to meet the expectation of all the people I mentioned in the post. I go out of my way most times, to accommodate their needs, more than mine. That is also probably one of the reasons of why I get more disappointed – expecting in return and not getting anything. Well.. what you said is ideal, maybe I should be more selfless. But I am also human, like you mentioned. Well.. it’s confusing and it’s difficult. 😦

      1. Tatsat says:

        I know, and I understand that you do put efforts beyond your abilities. But I guess we have to just keep doing it till we get results. Because going the other way just doesn’t work.

        It is confusing. Totally is. But totally worth the satisfaction that we tried our best πŸ™‚

  4. Ramya says:

    Arch, was away from blogging for a while and glad to see that you have started the A-Z challenge. Expectations!! Ah : In my opinion, this is one word that is the cause of tension of most relationships.Sometime back, I was also expecting from people around. But, now, I have given up or rather dont pay much attention to my expectation. I just go by what I need to do. Thats all. One thing which I realised is as much as I expect from others, others also have some or the other expectations out of me(those that we are not aware of or those that are not aligned with ours). So, I question if I fullfil their expectations ? If not, then, may be I shouldnt expect from others too. Hugs Arch..Wishinh you bliss! πŸ™‚ soooon..

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks Ramya, for the words of comfort! πŸ™‚
      I need to start doing that. Doing what I can and letting it be. Will try..

Share your thoughts...

