HP

This A-Z challenge has made me write about all the stuff I like. I wonder what I will post about after the challenge. πŸ˜›

HP not as in Hewlett-Packard, but as in Harry Potter and Hercule Poirot. The two fictional characters I love! πŸ™‚

Now who doesn’t love Harry Potter. When the books were being released I used to almost devour them. Finishing of the book, flat in one day. They were huge books, with 600+ pages some times. But they were so engrossing that I would be done reading them in a day or two. I re-read them, lotsa times. I watched the movies too, scores of times. My mom got tired of me watching it and used to ask exasperated, as to how many times I intend to watch them! πŸ˜€

I don’t agree with people who say that Harry Potter series is a children’s book. My only answer to them – Firstly read the books and then comment (I have met lots of people who haven’t read it and argue that they won’t, coz it’s a children’s book). Secondly, I believe it takes immense creative ability to think of and write something fictional like Harry Potter. It’s not a simple fairy tale. Sure the series revolves around children who study magic. But an adult can surely enjoy it as much, in fact, more than a child.

The other fictional character that I love is Hercule Poirot. For those who are unaware, Hercule Poirot is a Belgian detective in many Agatha Christie novels. The whole image of Hercule Poirot that Agatha Christie has created through her novels is amazing. The short, egg-headed man, with a sharp mustache and keen eyes, who keeps rolling off dialogues in French, is someone you will totally admire. His wit and observation power and the ability to study people’s character, which makes him solve every mystery is amazing!

I know it’s a fictional character, but it is drawn out so well by Agatha Christie! She is my favorite author till date. πŸ™‚ For people who start reading an Agatha Christie novel and tell me it’s boring, I tell them to keep at it and read beyond the first few pages. I know the novels start off slow and can seem boring in the beginning, but when you reach the heart of the plot, it’s un-put-downable!

I have lost count of how many Agatha Christie novels I have read till date. But there are a few which are my favorite, like, Towards Zero, Elephants can Remember, The ABC Murders, The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, Murder on the Orient Express.. Actually sooo many more. πŸ™‚

Do read the Harry Potter series and the Hercule Poirot collection. If you like fiction, I am sure you will like these too. πŸ™‚

Share your thoughts...

