Interviews

Not long back I was struggling with interviews. Getting a new job wasn’t easy. My confidence was at an all time low and every interview I attended, scared me more and affected my positivity. I would be gripped by tension, from the day before the interview. It would rise with every passing hour, until just before the interview, when my condition would be really pathetic!

The nocebo effect played huge wreckage, though I was aware that it’s just a psychological effect. I would begin to have the knotty feeling in my stomach and weird fluttering fear in the chest and I would make umpteen rushes to the loo just before the interview. 😦

It took me a really long time and a lot of interview attending to get the new job. I would panic and it would result in me forgetting most stuff and not answer. The moment I step out the room and walk to a cool place, the answers would come rushing back to my mind. 😡 As if all the torture wasn’t enough, I had to undergo quite a few client interviews after joining too.

When I finally got through, I got to know that it was indeed a big deal to get through the client interview, as very few actually do. The clients are very stringent about who they take in. This became evident when my manager suggested that I be a part of the technical panel who takes the interview to the candidate, for recruitment. I was shocked! I told him clearly that I am not confident about it and am not even sure how I will handle it. But a lot of coaxing and pushing from him and friends made me give it a try.

It was strange to be on the other side of the interview table. I am sure for the first few times, I was more nervous than the candidate who was attending the interview. Later, slowly, I began noticing that everyone is nervous, everyone gets panicky the moment they are unable to recollect an answer. It was a good feeling to know that I am not alone in experiencing these feelings. I tried my best to make the candidates to feel at ease. I always gave them the benefit of doubt, as I sincerely believe that just because a candidate cannot answer all the questions, it doesn’t mean he is unworthy of the job. Similarly not every candidate who clears the interview will perform well in the team. There are always exceptions.

Sometimes I feel the whole interview process in this IT industry is flawed. The interviewers base their question on what they know and the candidate may be extremely good at something else, but doesn’t know the answers to what the interviewer asks. I know it is difficult to assess anyone in an hour or 30 min, but I think the questions should be more directed towards whether the candidate has the ability to think logically, arrive at solutions and knows what he had worked on so far. They shouldn’t bother about the syntax and stuff.

All in all, with the tables turned, I got to experience and view both the sides of the same coin. Great opportunity for learning, I must say!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Vikas Kalagi says:

    nice way of expressing, well written 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Hey Vikas! Thank you 🙂
      and.. welcome here 🙂

  2. Monkey Mind says:

    I am loving this challenge of yours Arch. Just now catching up with all the previous posts. 🙂

    The cycle is complete now na? It must be good to sit back and evaluate the way it feels to be on both the sides 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Yay.. Thanks MM 🙂
      Yeah.. the circle is indeed complete. 🙂

  3. Tatsat says:

    I gave this feedback when I attended an interview last year 😀 That rather than having just them firing questions on me, towards the end they should turn the tables around 😛 Of course, they as k the rhetorical ” Do you want to ask us anything”, but its more like a formality. Why not institutionalise this thing, I said.

    Got pretty good marks in that interview 😀 But they didn’t change the format 😛

    1. Arch says:

      Yeah.. so true.. That “Do you want to ask us anything?” is truly just a formality!

  4. Lavender says:

    Loved this post Arch.. When I was in college (final year), our HOD wanted all the final year students who got placed (in campus placement) to interview and prepare the thrid year students… When I was on the other side of the room, everything changed.. And, as you said we would only base our questions only on what we already knew.. It was scary but a good experience…

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks Lavender for reading and sharing your experience! 🙂

  5. Jas says:

    Having experienced both sides, which one you like more? 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      hehe 😀 I think taking someone else’s interview was better. I am not in the hot seat na.. that’s why 🙂

Share your thoughts...

