Booked!!

I was extremely upset on Saturday with certain developments that are happening in the family wrt the new house. I don’t want to be hasty and write something that I will regret later. So let me give that some time, to see how things go ahead. This post is about something that totally flipped my sullen mood. 🙂

I found a book store, when Bg and I had gone to Jayanagar 4th Block. We were simply walking in the street, when I saw a board, which told that books are for sale, Rs. 200 per kg or Rs.60 per book. I have previously bought books from such clearance sales and thinking that it must be something similar, I stepped in. I was amazed by the number of books the place held!! It was a like a maze with more and more rooms and even more books! They said they have that outlet open there always. It wasn’t just a temporary sale. My mood instantly switched on! 🙂

Look at that!
Look at that!
and more..
and more..

You need a lot of time to go through the books. You will have to do extensive searching to get a book of your choice maybe. But there’s also a chance that you won’t find the books by the regularly popular authors. They would all be gone, I guess!

yup that's me, overloaded with six books in my hand and still looking for more..
yup that’s me, overloaded with six books in my hand and still looking for more..

Previously in a similar sale I had bought few books. One of it was “The Glass Lake” by Maeve Binchy. It was a great book and I loved reading. So this time when I found the whole collection of her books, I couldn’t resist myself. I bought two of her books. I also bought “Chocolat” by Joanne Harris. I had watched the movie and liked it. Also I remember TGND reviewing it. So it got promptly picked! I also bought three other books, written by authors whose works I haven’t read till now. These sales give you such opportunity! I read the back cover and picked them up.

Here’s my loot –

:D
😀

To say the least, I am super happy!! 😀

Edited to add: For everyone who was keen to knowing where the place is. You will find this place if you walk from the Cool Joint junction in Jayanagar 4th block towards Pai Vijay. It is on the same road as Cafe Pascucci and Kala Mandir. The store was named “The Book Bonanza”.

P.S: Please don’t take take along an uninterested husband, who will make you leave in 45 minutes. :-/ You’ll need a lot of time! 😀

34 Comments Add yours

  1. greenboochi says:

    Wow!! Which is this shop by the way?! Next time I am there, will look out for it 🙂

    And thats a very huge handbag you are having 😀 *just observed* 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Updated the post which the store location details GB! Do check it out and tell me what you bought! 🙂
      Yup.. I like BIG handbags. 🙂 I stuff everything into it! 😀

      1. greenboochi says:

        Hehehe I can already imagine S getting all bugged about it – cos I am not the one to leave in 45mins 😀

        1. Arch says:

          hehehe 😀 these guys I tell you!! 😐

  2. Titaxy says:

    omg, is this heaven or what? i want to there and spend days going through this treasure.

    1. Arch says:

      Isn’t it? 🙂
      I was telling Bg that if the shop guy offers me any job there, I would be happy to take it! 😀 i could sit and read books everyday!

  3. Cooool. Where is this shop? I so want to check this place next time I am in Jayanagar!

    1. Arch says:

      Hey AK! I just updated the post with the store location details. Hope you find it, whenever you are there. 🙂

  4. How awesome is that 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Absolutely! 🙂

  5. Tatsat says:

    And people say, heaven is somewhere they can’t be without dying! Foolish people 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Hehe.. So true that! 🙂

  6. paatiamma says:

    Soooo much!!! U are so lucky!!

    1. Arch says:

      Yay 🙂 You can come too.. 🙂

  7. Mi says:

    yay…that is so amazing! 🙂 lucky you!! 🙂 lemme know if the sale is still running.. ill go check it out this weekend! 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      🙂 🙂
      As far as what the guy told, the shop is there always. It wasn’t just a sale. So you can go check it out. 🙂
      I have updated the post with the location details.

  8. Lavender says:

    Ah- That’s a lot of books there! I’d like to see this place sometime.. You must have had a great time. Njoii reading them 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks Lavender. I am looking forward to reading them too. 🙂 Hope you get to visit the place some day!

  9. Mi says:

    yay..thanks for the addrss.. 😀 😀
    PS: luckily i don’t have a husband 😉 😛

  10. Hey!
    Just landed on your blog! 🙂
    Very interesting and engaging blog! 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Hey there!!
      Thank you so much! 🙂 Good to see you here…

  11. Pepper says:

    God. That place looks like a treasure trove.. I was there in Jayanagar (4th block!) just 3 days ago. But I am almost happy I didn’t discover this place then. It would have been too painful to restrict myself and not buy too much owing to factors like flight luggage allowance.

    1. Arch says:

      Hehe 🙂 It was indeed a great place! Where all did you go to, in Bangalore?

  12. What a beautiful place! I am glad you could go there and pick up some books of your choice. 🙂 Happy reading!

    Chocolat is an awesome book!

    Your post reminds me of a similar place in Koramangala. I am in two minds about doing a post on it – one part of me wants to keep it a secret, while one part of me wants to tell everyone about it. 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      A similar place in Koramangala? That’s cool! 🙂
      Hehe.. I totally understanding the feeling of wanting to share sometimes and just keep it a secret at other times. 🙂

  13. Whaaaaat! I have been to 4th block many times 😦 I think I am too busy eating and street shopping other things – Mummy! I want to so go here now! But ah, I need to buy extra luggage 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Yay! 🙂 Do go there whenever you come down.. Am sure there will be more book stores like this, waiting to be discovered. 🙂

  14. Bikramjit says:

    200 a kg wowo now that is a bargain .. hey here is a hint buy the ones with less number of pages and without the hard covers 🙂 he he he you will get more in the KG 🙂 🙂

    ok ok dont kill me over this stupid comment ..

    I dont know how i missed this one .. but that is a lottttttttttttt of booooks .. it looks like my loft I have so many up there and recently when i had to shift the house I had at least 8 or 9 big boxes to take along to the new house as I did not want to get rid of the books …

    and hey I hope all is fine on the new home front take care …

    1. Arch says:

      hehehe 😀

      Things are going on Bikram. Thanks for asking.. I need to do an update post soon…

  15. Mi says:

    whr have u been all these days? all good?

    1. Arch says:

      Am right here.. Been a bit busy at work and been my wonky self, with posts forming and evaporating in my head. 😐
      Thanks for asking Mi! You are such a sweetheart. ❤

      1. Mi says:

        Alrighty! 🙂 take care n get back in action soon! 🙂 miss you n ur posts around here! 🙂

  16. Deboshree says:

    Wow! That’s a neat collection and at that price, indeed a loot! 😀 Nothing like loads of books so you’ll never run out of them.

Share your thoughts...

