Joyous Birthday!

I think this is going to be the norm now. :-/ A post a month. Read posts when I have time, plan to comment later. Then when I login with the intent of commenting on posts, I see about ten other new posts that I have to catch up with!

My life in the past few months can be described as go to work, slog all day, travel home, login again from home and work, get irritated with people’s behavior, fight, crib and talk a little ย with Bg and then go to bed. Next day the whole episode repeats.ย Even before the weekend arrives, there are functions, errands and festivals lined up, which need to be attended to. ๐Ÿ˜

Really, sometime I am amazed, how we hardly get any weekends off for just ourselves! I hadย about a hundred or more fights with Bg, about how we have not gone anywhere in the two years of being married, how we have never taken a vacation for ourselves.

I have kept asking Bg to plan for a Goa trip. But he keeps putting it off, saying we’ll be bored if we go only as a couple and it’s a place where we should go in a group. With others backing his opinion, the Goa plan fell flat,ย even before it got kicked off! But he suggested we go to a home stay near Dharmasthala – Stream of Joy. He had been there with his friends a few years back and said it’s a nice place to go and relax. Our birthdays fall on consecutive days. His on the 13th of Feb and mine on the 14th. We planned to take a day off on Friday and head off for the weekend.

But as luck would have it, I had too much work at office! I had to deliver my code fixes by Thursday evening if I wanted the Friday off. I kept working and working, even worked in the cab on the way back home on Thursday evening. I finished off just in time to leave on Thursday night. We even took the laptop along, anticipating work! We drove in our own car and hence the liberty of leaving late on Thursday night.

We stayed at his cousin’s place for the night. Itย was about half way to the destination. Started on Friday morning, post breakfast and drove straight to the place, except for one break for coffee. The lovely place welcomed us. Amidst a green arecanut field, just adjacent to his own house, the owner has built 4 cottages. Two of them were occupied and one was under renovation. We were shown our cottage. Simple and beautiful!

Our cottage! I had to crop of Bg, who was sitting on the bench. :P
Our cottage! I had to crop of Bg, who was sitting on the bench. ๐Ÿ˜›

We made ourselves comfortable. Had some coffee, took some rest and then were off with the owner and the couple in the other cottage for fish feeding. Kapila river flows adjacent to theย temple of Shishileshwara, which is about 10 km away from the cottage. Huge number of fishes are found there, as fishing has been prohibited since a long time. Feeding these fishes with puffed rice, is one of the activities of the owner. Apparently he has been sponsored by someone to do the same, regularly. It was amazing to see the fishes jump on each other to eat the treat!

Look at the number of fishes!!
Look at the number of fishes!!

The next day was great too. We spent time lazing around on the hammock, took a walk, rowed the raft there by ourselves, had an awesome time getting drenched in the artificial waterfall that they create using just a generator. The greatest advantage of this place was that there no network coverage. Our phones were as good as dead for two days!! The area had only BSNL network coverage and nothing else was in range. It was a good feeling to be cut off from everything, even if it was a for while.The flip side was that I got no wishes on my birthday! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I called my mom and sister myself when we were out for a drive and were in the next town. ๐Ÿ™‚

Lovely Hammock!
Lovely Hammock!
The Raft!
The Raft!
The gravel laden path leading to our cottage.
The gravel laden path leading to our cottage.
DSC01683
The swings
Shishileshwara temple adjacent to the Kapila
Shishileshwara temple adjacent to the Kapila
The Hanging Bridge
The Hanging Bridge

It was a peaceful and relaxing getaway and I just didn’t wanna come back! Now that I am back, I am getting grilled, working till late into the night. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

How have you all been??

17 Comments Add yours

  1. greenboochi says:

    Wow. Simply wow. I so want to be in that cottage now. The pictures are so beautiful Arch. Wishing you a very happy birthday, belated though. I’m glad you got a break and wish you get to go Goa soon. I would love to visit Goa too and its not happening at all. We were to go to Goa only for the anniversary but then we had to settle for Chikmagalur.

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks so much GB! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Me and you will ditched Bg and S and head of to Goa by ourselves! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ What say?? ๐Ÿ˜€

      1. greenboochi says:

        I am totally in ๐Ÿ˜€

        1. Arch says:

          ๐Ÿ˜€
          I just saw.. There were so many typos in my reply! :-/

  2. It looks like a lovely place! I googled it right now, Cuz I had no idea where it is.
    May I suggest something? Goa is fun as a couple/small group/ family, in every way. If both of you go, you guys can rent an activa, roam around like college kids and can do activities freely. Stay in a homestay on calangute or condolim. My parents stayed in Condolim, on a walking distance to the beach, rented an activa, went to the spice garden there and all. When I went with my girls, I just got drunk a lot. I did a lot of water sports, and so did mommy and daddy!

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks PB!! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I am gonna show this comment to Bg and say see see…. ๐Ÿ˜ก
      Thanks for those details btw. ๐Ÿ™‚ I will research more before asking him again!

  3. Anu says:

    That sounds like a nice relaxing get-away… good that you got some much-needed respite! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      yay ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks!

  4. Bikramjit says:

    wowo lovely pics , indeed a beautiful place..

    I myself so want to go and see GOA never been to it ..

    and hey Happy brithday and many happy returns of the day ..

    nice relaxing time well spent ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks Bikram! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Tharani says:

    Belated birthday wishes Arch and what a lovely vacation that was. I am glad you guys were able to make it.
    Goa is for everyone. You go alone or as a couple or as a group, you never are going to get bored. I hope you guys make it to Goa too this year ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks so much Tharani! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really hope we get to go to Goa sometime soon!!

  6. Titaxy says:

    i think my comments on your blog are going missing. i remember reading this post and writing a birthday wish for you. i also recall commenting on your latest post, but dont see either of them now. oh well.
    belated birthday wishes, arch. the photos are wonderful; i would love to go see that hanging bridge.
    and belated birthday wishes to your husband too ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much T! ๐Ÿ™‚
      I wonder what’s with the disappearing comments??!! I remember Pepper mentioning something similar on her blog. Guess it happening to some of the WP users..

  7. Beautiful pics. Looking forward to reading your other posts.

    1. Arch says:

      Hey there! Thank you for the lovely comment and for dropping by here! ๐Ÿ™‚

Share your thoughts...

