Ooty!!

So a long due holiday, a decent vacation finally happened. I am the kind who will sulk for everything. For not having got a break to losing her leaves. :-/ But this time both the things worked out. I had worked on a couple of weekends and hence got comp-offs and had to take just one day leave. With the weekend added we had a good five days off!

This time I didn’t plan much or build my hopes too high as we usually end up canceling on most plans. Ooty was in mind. I have been there thrice and have fond memories associated and Bg hadn’t been there at all. I completed all my work before venturing to ask for leave. Bg too was able to get off work. But our hotel wasn’t booked till the previous day and we weren’t sure of which one to go for either.

Now with so much information available on the web, a person tends to get more confused than before. I got sick of reading reviews and trying to make a decision between a homestay and hotel. Bg wasn’t keen on a homestay as we would be out for sight-seeing most part of the day. All the hotels that I checked seemed to be unavailable on the days that we wanted. As for what remained, they were exorbitantly out of our budget.

Thanks to cleartrip, I found a hotel for our dates and got a 25% cash back on it too. 🙂 It was very close to the Botanical Garden and the market area. The reviews were good too. Booked it instantly and got all set to go! We had decided to drive there in our car and halt at Nanjangud, where my mom’s uncle’s family stays. They had been asking us to visit, since forever! We drove via KRS and decided to visit the Venugopala Swamy temple which is being restored on the banks of the KRS. The work is still in progress, but it looks beautiful already.

The drive to Ooty was beautiful. It felt great to drive through the Bandipur and Madhumalai forest. Though we spotted only a few animals, the serenity and the silence felt good. All along I kept saying how awesome it would be if we spotted a Tiger. But that would have been too much luck! On reaching Ooty we were in for a shock. We were welcomed by something that Bangaloreans dread and are tired of.. Traffic jam! I couldn’t believe the fact that it took us more than an hour to cover the 5 km stretch to our hotel. We only got to know later that the huge rush was for the flower show happening at the Botanical Garden. Though there were no jams the following two days, but there was still the mad rush of people everywhere; for boating in the lake, for the toy train and in the garden!

ooty

The hotel was comfortable and we ended up taking multiple walks to the market area. I was in search of the tiny eat-out that we had visited years ago. The memories of the yummiest Alu parathas still linger in my mind. After roaming around twice in the same stretch, I finally spotted it – Pankaj Bhojanalay. We saw there was a huge queue, but I was ready to wait. The place has been renovated and it now much bigger than what it was. I had alu paratha yet again, but it didn’t match my expectation. It was good nevertheless.

After two days of stay and roaming around, we drove back. We bought home a lot of fruits on the way – jackfruits, watermelons and mangoes. The drive back to Bangalore took really long, due to the heavy rain. The rain started lashing from Mysore, so much that the road and vehicles were invisible. We didn’t stop on the highway, fearing the flowing water and tree falls. We drove back slowly and hence took a good 10 hrs to reach home from when we started.

All in all it was good fun and a great get away! It’s close to a month already! I wanted to put it down here, before I feel disinterested and let it go like all the other things.

ooty1

Family pic! :D
Family pic! 😀
Aren't they beautiful? :)
Aren’t they beautiful? 🙂
10 Comments Add yours

  1. Deboshree says:

    Bea-u-tiful pictures! They brightened up my morning considerably. 😀

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much Debo! 🙂

  2. greenboochi says:

    Beautiful!!! 🙂 I am so glad you got your break and didnt have to take too many offs too 🙂 Ooty is very special to me as well. Having never visited it before marriage, S planned this surprise trip for my birthday during our first year together 🙂 Now I feel like going on a holiday – feels like its been such a long time 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you GB! You should go too and have a nice holiday!

  3. Anu says:

    lovely pics! you are yet to send me the album link 😡
    Good that you got to have your much needed getaway! 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Hehe 😀 I am yet to upload the pics.. You know me!

  4. Lavender says:

    Awww. This place is never boring Arch. I’ve been there only once but the memories are still fresh in my mind. And your pictures are beautiful and refreshing 🙂 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Lavender 🙂

  5. Tatsat says:

    Looks like you met our ancestors, and their cousins in plenty 😉 Must have been an emotional reunion 😁😁

    1. Arch says:

      Haha! Sure they were in plenty! 🙂

Share your thoughts...

