My Green Attempts

My Dad had quite a green thumb. He had that love for gardening. As children we stayedย in one of the greenest campuses in Bangalore. Every fruit and flower that you can commonly name was there in our garden. Though I was quite young, I remember that Dad spent a lot of time amidst the plants watering and tending to them. He used a hose and that would be left in the pit around the tree trunk, to be filled with water. Slowly all the plants would be watered.

Sadly we left the campus when I was very young. But we used to revisit the place frequently as a lot of my dad’s friends stayed there. I absolutely cherish the memories of the campus and would give anything to be able to go live in such a place again!

We brought whatever was possible in pots, when we shifted. A lot more got added to them over the years and our terrace looked quite like a mini forest. As dad grew older he couldn’t put too much effort in maintaining the plants. He watered them, but the trimming, de-weeding etc was rarely done. I did whatever possible when I was in Bangalore. But later, my two years in Chennai, did not let me spare time for it. The plants grew quite wild.

After dad passed away, I decided to get all the plants re-potted and cleaned up. I did get in touch with a person for that but sadly, after multiple discussions, the guy never turned up. My mom doesn’t have the zeal for such things. Recently I did clear up whatever little I could on a day that I was there. But there’s a lot left to do.

I did inherit this love for plants from my Dad. I dreamt of elaborate gardens in my house. But sadly the men in the family didn’t think too much about garden space when constructing this house and we ended up having very little area for greenery. But why should that stop me? I have started out my own independent attempt at container gardening. I now have quite a few potted plants that I tend to and hope that they grow well. My collection is slowly growing and one day I hope I am able to implement the other ideas of terrace gardening too.

20150616_081208

20150616_081217

I am trying to grow plants from saplings, seeds, bulbs and tubers. Our recent trip to Ooty let me buy the bulbs and tubers of some beautiful flowering plants. I hope the saplings sustain over time and I get to see them flowering. ๐Ÿ™‚

20150616_194808
Coriander ๐Ÿ™‚

20150616_194836ย 20150616_195248ย 20150616_194734

What’s also making me happy is my attempt at home composting. Yes! I am making compost at home! I read up about it on the web and started a teeny attempt. I did not indulge myself in a composter as I wasn’t very sure of how my attemptย would turn out. I just used the old plastic buckets that were lying around in the house. After my first batch of successful composting, now I am more courageous. The second and third batches are in progress too. The first batch is yet to be put to use though. This is how it looks –

20150616_222307
The First Batch

It still needs some sieving and then it’s ready to use! I am so happy that the waste that goes into the bin everyday has reduced and I am putting that into good use!

I am sure my Dad will be glad wherever he is. ๐Ÿ™‚

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Archita says:

    Your dad will be super proud. ๐Ÿ™‚ Wonderful work I see there.

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much Archita! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Even I have cilantro! Same pinch. See my Instagram feed on the website.

    1. Arch says:

      Yay! I went and checked that out! They look great! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Lovely.yes, your dad will be proud:g

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks so much Pop! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Deboshree says:

    Amazing! You totally have green fingers, And yes, Dad is super proud. ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Arch says:

      ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Debo!

  5. Mi says:

    This looks so good, Arch! Let me know you got that compost done.. I have a small garden back home, I can tell them how to do it.. I have been planning on doing some myself, here in bangalore..but been too hopeless.. Probably Ill start now.. your little garden looks really good.. Your dad must be really happy! I am sure! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      It’s really quite simple Mi.. I will post about that too.. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. greenboochi says:

    Your dad would be so proud of you Arch ๐Ÿ™‚ Your balcony garden looks so nice. After moving to this new place last year, I started with some potted plants too. Sadly none of them survived long. Last year when amma was here, we made some amendments and with our trip to Chikmagalur, I have a few pots now. Hope they grow well. Its one of my wishes to have a home garden too ๐Ÿ™‚ Amma has the green thumb in our house and tends to plants with love and care.

    1. Arch says:

      I hope your plants grow well too. Thanks so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Anu says:

    Wow! that looks like a nice little terrace garden in the making! ๐Ÿ™‚ Dad would’ve been happy and given you many suggestions! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I am sadly yet to do anything on the garden front, although I’m itching to do it I am scared by the thought that nothing will survive ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    1. Arch says:

      ๐Ÿ™‚
      How will you know until you start? Anyway get the bed ready for the jackfruit sapling! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Share your thoughts...

