Show Time!!

on

It’s been really long that I made an attempt to write anything here. Something that I have been occupied in the whole of last month is…. Dance!!! πŸ˜€ Yes.. After about 14 odd years, I got onto a stage again, to perform.

Back in school, I was a regular in all extra-curricular activities, ranging from singing and dance to sports and craft. Twice every year we elaborately planned and practiced for dance performances, one for the Talents Week and another for the Annual Day. It was an a-m-a-z-i-n-g time! I loved the practice, the rehearsals, deciding on the costume, getting dressed up on the big day and performing in front of hundreds of people!

I particularly remember the final year in school, my 10th standard, when I twisted my leg by falling down the stairs, a day before the performance. I was so upset about what would happen. My last chance to perform was getting screwed up! I went to the doctor and pleaded him to do something, so I could dance. I even took an injection and bitterly swallowed his advice toΒ not dance and taking rest. In my mind I had already decided I would dance anyway. πŸ˜›

Due to the twisted leg, I had to switch places in the dance formation and couldn’t stand in the front, like it was planned. I stood in the second position and I regretted switching places coz I danced well anyway, that too standing on my toes throughout the dance. My entire family had all its attention only on my leg and not my dance. πŸ˜› Even my sister and mom remember this incident till today.

Somehow after this, throughout my college, I became a totally different person. I kept myself away from any sort of cultural activities. Let alone participating, I hardly attended any such events. Basically became a bore. πŸ˜›

When this office Annual Day was announced, I read the mail and closed it as usual. A very enthusiastic and lively friend from the team was very keen on participating and declared that I would be a part of the group too. I tried my best to get out of the whole thing, but in vain. I am so glad now that I didn’t drop out. I had so much fun! The practice sessions were too good. We all ended up with aching muscles and limbs for so many days! With the project release having got over just then, we didn’t have much work and spent endless hours practicing. It’s a surprise we weren’t kicked out by the higher-ups. But we were safe as our managers too were a part of the dance group! πŸ˜€

The hunting of costumes, the innumerable rehearsals, the stage rehearsal and burning calories was fun. But it was nothing close to how we felt on the day of the performance. It was a blast!! So many random people, whom we had never spoken to, walked up to us and told us that we performed really well and they totally enjoyed the show! The claps and whistles were ringing in our ears for a long time. πŸ™‚

We felt so lost the next day. Missed the practice and songs so much! We kept talking only about it, seeing the photos and video a zillion times. Β Even till today, the conversations get steered in that direction in the midst of everything else. πŸ™‚

Definitely something that I want to keep doing time and again! πŸ˜€

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Anu says:

    Way to go girl! πŸ˜€
    You should get to doing more such stuff that you enjoy and all that makes you happy! πŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you! πŸ™‚

  2. Greenboochi says:

    Awesome Arch! πŸ™‚ The happiness in this post is just bubbling through! Keep dancing πŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks GB! πŸ™‚

  3. Tatsat says:

    Congratulations 🎊
    Must have been like coming home. I have heard people who dance are more expressive through that medium of communication. Since you, yourself, confess being shy, it would be refreshing to see you speak, so to say, through those moves. You should do more of that…

    That apart, I wouldn’t know anything about singing and dancing myself πŸ˜‰ Does BG dance as well??

    1. Arch says:

      lol πŸ˜€ BG and dance.. that would be fun! πŸ˜€
      Thanks Tatsat! πŸ™‚ I thoroughly enjoyed it and would love to do more of it.

      1. Tatsat says:

        Maybe you didn’t provoke him enough πŸ˜‰ But of course, it will take effort… 😊 😊

  4. Bikramjit says:

    THat is excellent ..

    I think as life goes we stop enjoying what we enjoyed when we were kids , your post has brought a thought in mind.. maybe I should stop being a bore myself and do something .. Thank you.

    and HEllo.. How are you doing. stupid question to ask i know πŸ™‚ he he he

    1. Arch says:

      Hello! πŸ™‚ Perfectly right question to ask, considering how absent I have been around here. 😐 I am doing fine.. How have you been?
      And that’s absolutely true, we should all do stuff that makes us happy and feel good about ourselves!

  5. Archya Sengupta says:

    in our daily rush we forget to do the things that really make us happy! something that, as you said, we should be doing time and again ! well written πŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks so much Archya! πŸ™‚ and welcome here!!

Share your thoughts...

