Random updates!

on
  • Some of my plants are progressing well, while some died. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I can’t seem to figure out which ones need how much sunlight/water. Also most of them have stunted growth. They don’t seem to grow tall at all! Still trying to figure out things.

Meanwhile two Okrasย made appearance while all the other veggies seemed to die. Spinach made some progress too and I harvested some Methi as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

Among the flowering plants, an occasional rain lily makes appearance. But the rose plant is much more generous. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Betel leaf creeper, Aloevera etc are making good progress while the chilly plant is so badly infected that it will die soon. So there’s perfect balance ๐Ÿ˜›

  • Days are too packed and I am so deprived of sleep. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ When I actually have some time to sleep, I feel that I should really be doing something, instead of wasting it by sleeping. Like in the cab, when commuting to and fro from office. Itโ€™s a good four hours in the day and I can catch up on some sleep. But thatโ€™s the only time I get to read my books. So thatโ€™s what I do. ๐Ÿ˜› I bought a kindle in the Amazon sale a few ย months back. I had stopped myself from buying it because I really love the look and feel of an actual book. But I got a really good deal on Amazon and I couldnโ€™t resist. So far, Iโ€™ve finished about 5 books. ๐Ÿ™‚ I started re-reading the Anne series by L. M Montgomery and realized that I love those books as much, even now! ๐Ÿ™‚
  • This poor little calf got separated from its herd one day and was seen roaming around near our house, crying in plight. No one came looking for it. We felt the owner must have abandoned it since it was a male calf. It kept calling out all day and was also chased around a lot by the street dogs, much to our agony. We fed it and enquired around to see if we could find its owner, but in vain. All night long it slept in front of our gate.

20151030_082315

Next morning it picked up courage and ventured out to the main road crying out for its mother. While I could hear it calling out on the main road, much to my dismay I saw a brown cow, itโ€™s mother, calling out from under the very same tree where the calf stood crying the previous day. The cow and calf could hear each otherโ€™s call but the calf couldnโ€™t figure out where its mother was calling from. While I was wondering what to do, a laborer from a nearby site went and brought the calf to its mother. It was such an amazing sight to see all nuzzling and the way the calf contentedly drank milk and slept beside its mother. ๐Ÿ™‚ Let the pics do the talking.

I am in that mode where I can write only random update posts. ๐Ÿ˜

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh god the baby calf! My heart broke imagining how it must be feeling separated from its mother. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I feel horrible when I read about the dairy industry and dogs and puppies and such. So glad they found each other!

    1. Arch says:

      Yeah me too. I was so restless on that day and so happy when it found it’s mother! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Bikramjit says:

    give all of the plants average sunlight , you cant go wrong with that ๐Ÿ™‚ and they look healthy although the soil looks a bitr parched in the pots ๐Ÿ™‚

    and what a site of the calf and the mother … beautiful

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you for the tip Bikram! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. sramya19 says:

    It’s quite a relief to know that cow and calf got together. .quite sad to look at the pic of the little calf stranded and searching. ..okra…way to go Arch..Please keep posting on how your veggie garden. .its an inspiration for me who wants /desires to have one but not getting around to do it..

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks Ramya for the comment and encouragement! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. sramya19 says:

    I would like to read your updates post.if you don’t mind, can you share the password for the same?

    1. Arch says:

      Sure! Could you please share your email id. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Greenboochi says:

    The last one melted my heart! Thank you for sharing the story Arch ๐Ÿ™‚ By the way, I restrained myself from buying Kindle for the very same reason last year but I can say that Kindle is the best thing that happened to me. I can read fast, store a lot of books and carry them everywhere ๐Ÿ™‚
    My plants are on stunted growth too.. makes me wonder if potted plants suffer this?! Roses and lily are gorgeous. My rose plants stopped giving new leaves 5-6 months back ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have tulsi plants in abundance and a few basil and pudina plants left.

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks so much for the lovely comment GB! Even I adore my kindle now. ๐Ÿ™‚
      And maybe you are right. Sometimes even I feel it’s the potted plants that suffer more. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Why don’t you try trimming your rose plant and add some compost to it. I am sure it will flower soon. A lot of these gardening materials are even available online. In fact a friend of mine started the website http://www.trustbasket.com, along with a few people. You can check it out. There are other such websites available too!
      Happy gardening! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am glad we are doing a tiny bit at least in this country where the pollution is ever increasing!

  6. hitchy says:

    first time here I think and loved reading about the calf episode! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy endings are like that I guess! How wonderfully they are sleeping together! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Hey hitchy! Welcome here! Thanks for reading. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. so sad about that calf.. glad to know it found its mother. Wow! you bought a Kindle too. Same here, even I am reading during the few hours in the night when I get time to sleep. I am sleep deprived because of this. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Your plants look amazing!

    1. Can you please share the password for your previous post? Not sure what it is about.

    2. Arch says:

      Thanks so much AK! ๐Ÿ™‚

Share your thoughts...

