Swinging with joy!

on

There was a Kannada movie, quite an old one called BeLLi MoDagaLu. It was a beautiful movie, the story-line, characters and everything. One thing I liked a lot in the movie was a swing, a wooden one. It was shown in a lot of scenes and there was a song which was shot on it too.

The scenes stayed in my mind and some day I wanted to have a swing at home, a big one! It was one of my dreams. When we planned this home, one of the requests I put forth to my husband is to have hooks in the ceiling for a swing.

Though that was done, we didn’t extensively look out for swings as such. I am the keen and impatient type, when it comes to buying or shopping something. I don’t have the patience to enquire in multiple places, find out the best product or price. I am easy to please that way. 😛 But Bg is a totally opposite guy!

He checks out the product, enquires the price, takes the contact details, then looks at different products at various places. Finds the specifications of all of them, compares them, analyzes them, checks out if there are better deals etc. So basically he takes a whole lot of time and puts in a lot of thought before buying anything! So, we couldn’t buy one till now!

One of the places he had enquired was actually a cousin of his close friend. This person, Mr. Vijay is based in Mysore and is a software engineer who found his passion in this field of art. He maintains a website Arts of Mysore, which will give you an insight into the kind of work that he gets done.

Though it’s a beautiful website, it does no justice to the actual work, which is displayed at his home in Mysore. We took a trip to Mysore when we found out that he has a discount on the swing that we had enquired about some months back. It is simply beautiful!

It was a great experience meeting him. His passion is reflected in his talk. The importance that he gives to detailing, the finish of all the products and the enthusiasm with which he explains the work and effort that has gone in, is truly commendable! He took a lot of time and had a lot of patience in answering our questions, showing us samples and explaining the finer details about the types of wood and how the inlay work is done using the different types of wood. He spoke about how much effort goes into the making of each product, how less the artisans are paid and how many of these art forms are dying a slow death as the children of the artisans are not interested in pursuing it.

After spending quite a few wonderful hours talking to him, meeting his family over a cup of coffee, we bought our swing and left his place. This swing now adorns our living area and fills my heart with joy every time I look at it. It’s a dream come true! 🙂

 

Also leaving you with a video of a song from the movie I mentioned in the beginning. 🙂

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Monkey Mind says:

    Your swing looks majestic! Hang some brass lamps or some other bass art on the nearby walls to complete the majestic look 😀

    I keep dreaming of having one too. And, I also want one of those wooden balcony chairs that you hang from the ceiling. I dream of sitting in the chair with a nice book, steaming chai+ some biscuits to dunk, gentle breeze, and plants all around the balcony 😀

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you MM! 🙂 I know, I wish for a balcony cane chair too. But it would be too much to ask for at this point of time. 😛 Also considering the fact that I am hardly at home before dark, I feel buying it presently is pointless. 😦 So let’s see. Do post pics when you get one! 🙂
      P.S: I miss your Happy Hours post. I loved the photos and the write up in those.

      1. Monkey Mind says:

        My swing dream will take years to materialise. We are living a grad life now. So after we get a proper space, I ‘ll see 🙂

        Yeah? Your comment made me smiley and feel all good. I ‘ll try and resume it soon 🙂

  2. Lavender says:

    I love the swing Arch .. So Beautiful 🙂 🙂 This would add lot of beauty to your house 🙂
    I have always wanted one like this at home.. but the house we bought now doesn’t have this 😦 I’ve asked Lemon to get me one you know..

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Lavender! 🙂
      Good good. Keep giving Lemon gentle reminders. 😉

  3. Bikramjit says:

    I want one of those tooo.. you know I also want one of those jute ones that are like a chair hung on a tree in my garden so jn summers I can swingggggg and relax in there…

    I did buy a jute one years back on my way back from puri to bhubhneshwar.. must take it out and put it…

    Lovely swing….

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks Bikram!
      You have one and you are not using it?!!
      Please take it out and have a great time swinging! 🙂

  4. pins & ashes says:

    I had a swing like this in one of houses I stayed in.. Loved being in it.. Rocking chairs and swings are my favs

    1. Arch says:

      Yup! Aren’t they such lovely things! 🙂

      1. pins & ashes says:

        Very much lovely pieces of furniture .. 🙂

Share your thoughts...

