Towards a greener future!

on

Like I had mentioned in my year-end post, I had been on a lookout for workshops on gardening. Though I had read about a few, I couldn’t find any that would suit me and I was occupied on most weekends with a lot of other things.

On New Year’s Eve we visited the event that was organized by Adamya Chetana at National College Grounds. It was a great event, highlighting the need for increasing the green cover. They also showcased a lot of ongoing activities in this direction. They had numerous stalls for the same, where there displayed a variety of plants or trees. A few of them sold a few saplings too.

Apart from this they had a section of stalls paying tribute to Dr. A.P.J Abdul Kalam and featuring the work of various Defense and Aeronautical organizations – DRDO, NAL, HAL etc. to name a few. They had the models of the various aircrafts displayed too.

Apart from spending some time and buying a few saplings there, I signed up for a workshop at one of the stalls. This workshop was being organized by Mr. Rajendra Hegde from  BRICS over the weekend. The workshop was on Organic Terrace Gardening. I was delighted to find out about the workshop happening over the weekend and that it was at about 10 km from my place. So the reachability and timings wouldn’t be a problem.

I had a great time on Saturday, attending the same. The workshop was led by Mr. Rajendra and Mr. Viswanath. They took time to explain the need for Organic Terrace Gardening and how the green cover has dwindled in Bangalore over the years, how we as individuals can contribute. Apart from this they spoke about the various techniques and materials involved. They also had a demo where we learnt the ideal proportions for a good potting mix for container gardening. Participants had time for hands-on, where each of us planted a sapling which we took back home!

The food organized by Kaulige Foods for lunch was totally millet based. Rice and wheat having become the staple food after the green revolution, less people are aware of the various kinds of millets and even lesser people actually use them. The Kaulige Foods group has been trying to educate people over the benefits of millets over rice and are also supporting the farmers to get back to growing it. They are trying to go back in time. The food was delicious and healthy too!

After having a great time at the workshop, admiring their terrace garden and the variety grown there, learning various things and getting all my questions answered, I headed back home a happier person. The below pictures are from the terrace garden of Dr. Viswanath and from parts of the workshop.

 

On Sunday, Bg and I spent more than half a day with our plants on the terrace. We planted the new ones, cleaned up the dead ones, rejuvenated some of them and re-organized all the plants on the terrace. I tried employing the techniques that I learnt at the workshop. Keeping my fingers crossed for the progress of the plants. Though our back was almost broken from the tedious job and the legs are still aching, I was extremely happy. 🙂 I shared the pictures with my family and friends and sharing the same here!

 

I hope to keep up the enthusiasm and work at least a little a day in the terrace to keep the plants healthy and beautiful! Wish me luck! 🙂

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Anu says:

    That sounds like a fun workshop! And their terrace garden is so awesome! 😀
    Good luck with your garden! I’m sure yours will flourish too! 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you pichu! 🙂

  2. Archita says:

    Good luck, Arch! Organic garden is always amazing. This year, I’m planning to make a succulent garden in multi-colored mugs.

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Archita! 🙂
      That sounds wonderful! I would love to see the pictures of it.

  3. pins & ashes says:

    Fingers crossed and all best wishes for your plants, arch

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much PnA! 🙂

  4. Mi says:

    This is super interesting.. I also started doing this home garden thing when I moved to my new apartment. Though I don’t have such a nice space..I have two small pots and a dozenof water balls converted into pots, where I have planted coriander, chilli, bittergourd and aloe vera.. Hopefully I can do more.. I envy the space you have on terrace..It’s amazing! Looking forward to more pics!

    1. Arch says:

      That is so cool! I have seen pictures of plants grown in water bottles. Why don’t you share pictures too. 🙂 I hope my plants live up to the expectation and show progress!

      1. Mi says:

        I will definitely do that! I always forget to click pictures of the pots..I keep zooming in on the plants and flowers 😛

  5. Mi says:

    *water-bottles

    1. Arch says:

      Hey there! Thanks for reading! 🙂

Share your thoughts...

