That’s what’s up!

on

It’s already Feb! I wonder how many times I have already made this statement on the blog and elsewhere, that time just flies! Didn’t the new year just start? Now it’s already past a month. My reader which used to be flooded with posts in Jan suddenly seems empty, now that the blogathon is over. I am having withdrawal symptoms, having been addicted to reading so many posts every day! 😐

To add to this, the flu (or whatever it is!) doesn’t seem to go away. I have visited the doctor about 4 to 5 times now. What started off and was diagnosed as allergic cough never got better. There was a sudden increase in cold, such that my nose was blocked for two days and I couldn’t even breathe. The inflammation in the nostrils was putting so much pressure, that I had immense pain in the head, around the eye and ear region. The AC at office only added to my woes. In my last visit to the doctor, he said I was heading towards sinusitis and I have to take antibiotics (which I had refused previously). So now am on an antibiotic course and yet I see little improvement. I am sick of breathing through my mouth!! Arrgh! 😡

I signed up for the goodreads reading challenge (for 25 books) this time and I have been able to read only one book till now! So not done! The maximum I’ve done in a year was 24 books and I wanted a realistic goal, so made the target 25 this time. Another aim was to finish reading all the books that I bought at the Book Fair and use my JustBooks membership, for which I am still paying, but not using. 😛

One of my resolutions this year is to stop buying unnecessary stuff (especially clothes), use the ones that I have and give away the ones I don’t need. In this direction, I am happy to say that I put conscious efforts in the month of Jan to not buy anything (except for the birthday gifts). Every time an online sale or a store sale lured me, I consciously told myself I don’t need this and held back. Yay to me! I know some will be cynical and say it’s just been a month. But wasn’t it a positive start? 31 days ya! Good no? One video of Sudha Murthy that I received on WhatsApp, made me think on these lines. She said she hasn’t bought anything for herself in the last 15 years. She never felt the need for it! Amazing lady!

After much deliberation we have decided to go to Mangalore on our birthday weekend! Yay! 🙂 A friend of mine who lives there had been calling me since a very long time! He started nagging me constantly from the start of this year to plan a trip to his place. While I was thinking of Wayanad, he switched my plans and now we’ve booked tickets to go to Mangalore. I know it’s going to be so hot! That was the main reason I didn’t wanna go. But he coaxed me so much and BG agreed too. So that’s the plan for now! I remember our Stream of Joy trip from last year and how we had such a nice time. Hope this turns out even better!

For now.. that’s what it’s all about! 🙂

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Mi says:

    Hope you get better soon, Arch…
    I have taken a reading challenge too.. My goal is 30!! 😀
    the birthday weekend sounds like a fun plan.. have a wonderful time.. 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you! 🙂
      How many have you read so far?

      1. Mi says:

        1 – The Motorcycle Diaries. :/

  2. Greenboochi says:

    Oh big hugs Arch! Hope you feel better soon. I have been not so well these past three days and I’m so tired of being sick. Sigh.
    I would say its a great start. I didn’t buy anything in the latter half of last year and the feeling is so great 🙂
    Enjoy your Mangalore trip! We have not planned anything so far. Remember we both were around same area last year?! 😀

    1. Arch says:

      Oh yes GB! 🙂 Plan your anniversary trip soon! 🙂
      The weather has been really bad in the past few weeks. It’s getting hotter now. Take care!!

  3. Jo says:

    Enjoy you trip Arch.. Have fun.. Just read your post on Stream of Joy.. Very inviting.. 🙂 Take care.. Get well soon n enjoy!

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much Jo! 🙂

  4. kinmin says:

    Hey Arch! I know what you mean, I miss reading everyone’s posts too! Hope the cold gets better.. Do you take Vitamin supplements? Vitamin C helps strengthen immunity and fight infections.. I also signed up for a reading challenge of 25 books, and have read only one! Don’t worry, we have the entire year to catch up! 😉 Enjoy the birthday trip, and hope you feel better soon!

    1. Arch says:

      Hey Kinmin! No I don’t take Vitamin supplements. Yeah I know that Vitamin C is very beneficial, and I have been lazy to eat the oranges which are right there at home. 😦 I gotta make it a point to eat them.
      Yeah I too am hoping to catch up with the books in the remaining months. 🙂 Thank you so much! 🙂

  5. Happy travels, m’lady! And have loads of doodh-haldi and vit c. If you have a bad cough, have ghee in hot milk. It tastes really weird though. And I suspect the gagging removes the cough. Lol

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you PB! 🙂
      Doodh-Haldi I am taking. Should start eating the oranges though.
      But gagging? 😮

  6. Lavender says:

    Hugs arch.. Get well soon and enjoy your mangalore trip 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Lavender! 🙂

  7. Tharani says:

    Aww Arch. Take care. Get well soon. The mangalore trip sounds so much fun. Enjoy the trip.

  8. HoneyBee says:

    Hope you had a wonderful trip!! I’m fairly new to your blog. Landed up on your blog by one of the comments you had left on a blog I follow. You definitely have a wonderful blog out here.
    Not sure if you’ve tried Netipot, it sure helps with sinus symptoms, it did work for me. Hope you’re feeling better now. Take care.

    1. Arch says:

      Hey HoneyBee! Welcome here. Thanks for the comment. I am yet to go on the trip. Going this weekend. 🙂
      Thanks for the nice words! I have read about Netipot, but never used one. Need to try that maybe!

      P.S: I just hopped on to your blog. I love tit’s name!<3 Going there to read the posts now.

Share your thoughts...

