Birthday Celebration – I (Gifts!)

on

I look forward to birthdays. I love celebrating it. I enjoy both planning and receiving surprises. I also love the time I spend with my friends. The few close ones, who know me well and who know me for a really long time. I am just happy when they are around!

Since our birthdays (BG’s and mine) fall together, I try to plan for a trip around that time. BG is not much of a planner. He doesn’t initiate things on this own. Though he does enjoy the trip, he doesn’t get around to plan it on his own. Recently I decided, I will not let this affect us any longer. I will plan things if he doesn’t.

This birthday, I had decided to plan a trip to Wayanad. However a friend of mine, forced us to change our plans and come to Mangalore, where he and his wife stay. It sounded like so much fun, so we agreed too.

As for the birthday gift for BG, I was trying to figure what to buy, since December itself. It is really tough to choose something for a guy, extra difficult if the guy is like BG. He has no special likings or interest. Sometime in December a friend/cab-mate of mine was planning for 31 gifts for her husband, who was turning 31. So, we were extensively discussing about gift options. She said that for the main gift, she was planning for a platinum ring. That’s when we both brought up the topic of getting names engraved on the ring. It was something that was on both of our minds. Surprisingly another cab-mate of ours, promptly showed us his gold ring, which had the name of his wife engraved on it. He also named the jeweler who did that. This was not the typical, old style engraving, but an italicized one on the inner rim of the ring. Something of the kind we both were interested in.

That’s when the idea of buying platinum love bands and getting our names engraved on it, for our birthdays, made its way into my mind. Then started the research of where it’s done, what are the options, is it available online, how expensive it will turn out to be, etc. The jeweler that my cab-mate suggested, refused to do any engraving on platinum. 😦

About a month before our birthdays, after having a fair idea of what I want, I went out with my sister to check out the options at various jewelry stores. I wanted to have sufficient time in hand, in case I needed to place an order. I almost booked the rings at the first place we visited (yes, I am totally impatient, that way), though I wasn’t very satisfied with the design and the price was extremely expensive! Thankfully, my sister stopped me just in time and suggested that we check out a few more places before zeroing on what we buy.

We then went to our own GRT jewelers. Though they have a huge collection of gold jewelry, I didn’t have much hope about their platinum collection. But I was so wrong!  They had plenty of platinum rings, in various designs. Small and sleek, just the kind I was looking for! Trust me, they too have original, certified Platinum jewelry, but at a much reasonable price! I wonder how there could be such a huge difference in amount! The first place, was definitely cheating us! I had a hard time, picking out one design, because they have so many lovely ones.

We finally chose a simple design. The engraving was to take 3 days. We placed an order for that. His ring was to have my name and my ring would have his! We then walked out of the store immensely happy! 🙂 I collected it over a weekend, when BG was not in Bangalore and hid it in the cupboard.

Like all guys, BG is not comfortable wearing a ring all the time. He is scared that he will lose it, since he is not used it and will keep fidgeting with it. Hence the wedding ring was sitting inside too. With some emotional blackmail and describing all that I did to get this gift, I convinced him to wear it. 😛 Yay! 🙂 I am extremely happy!

20160116_231227
His!
20160116_231347
Mine!
20160212_222030
Us! 🙂

P.S: I shall write about the gift I received and our trip in the subsequent posts, as this one grew beyond what I expected. 🙂

22 Comments Add yours

  1. HoneyBee says:

    Hey Arch, It’s such a wonderful feeling when both of your birthdays fall together. Hope you guys had an amazing birthday. Choosing a gift for the betterhalf is not so easy. I so agree on that. Each time I try to find a gift for bee, I’ll have to rack my brain. That’s such a beautiful ring guys!! 🙂 And Arch thanks for the headup, I din’t know GRT had many platinum collections. Next time when I visit India, I’ll definitely go in to GRT.
    Now I’m waiting on to see the gift that you recieved and your weekend trip. 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much Honeybee! 🙂

  2. Greenboochi says:

    Awesome Arch!!! 🙂 Love your rings and the idea is great – how memorable and thoughtful this gift is 🙂 S and I wear gold rings with each other’s names engraved. We had them for our engagement and guess what, we got ours done in GRT too 🙂 They are not stylish, in fact are a bit old fashioned especially since the elders got involved but it is one ring I love the most 🙂 S wears no other jewelry except for this ring.. and had lost it once as well 😀 Now he is extra careful with it 🙂

    Looking forward to read the other details too 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      🙂 🙂
      Thanks GB!

  3. Mi says:

    This is AWESOME!!! I loved the idea of having names carved on the rings,… They are so elegantly beautiful!! Such a romantic idea and gift, around V’day! Belated Happy birthday to you and BG.. I am sure you had a great time.. Can’t wait to read further posts!

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Mi! 🙂

  4. Bikramjit says:

    WWOWOW tht is Awesome.. and as MI says above so very romantic..

    Belated happy birthday to BG and YOU ….

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks Bikram 🙂

  5. This is a beautiful idea! I think once I am married for sufficient amount of years and I feel assured that I like the fellow sufficiently (:P) I will get a tattoo on my ring finger with his initials.

    1. Also, your hands are so pretty! And what nail color is that??

      1. Arch says:

        I love the tattoo idea too. Have seen quite a few people sporting a tattoo on the ring finger, it looks cool! I fear the pain though. 😐
        Thanks! 😀 I never-ever considered my hands pretty! They look so old and worn out, at most times.:-/
        The nail color is from Faces, some shade of mauve, don’t remember the exact name!

  6. Lavender says:

    Happy happy birthday to you guys 🙂

    WOW Arch! Birthdays falling together is so awesome 🙂 And the rings with names engraved is so special and super awesome 🙂 🙂 Can’t wait to read more about the gifts and birthday trip 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Lavender! 😀

  7. pins & ashes says:

    Aquarians 🙂 me too .. When are your birthdays arch? And sending lovely lovely wishes to you 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks PnA! 🙂 Yes Aquarians! 😀
      BG’s 13th Feb and mine on 14th Feb.

      1. pins & ashes says:

        That’s like triple celebration every year 🙂

  8. Jo says:

    Awesome! A thoughtful gift, I would say. On a different note, did your friend buy 31 gifts. Just curious 😉 Interesting idea. Our wedding rings carry our names engraved on it! Mine is on the outer rim and his, on the inner rim 😉

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you! 🙂
      Yeah, she bought 31 gifts. But instead of surprising him with it on his birthday, she gave it to him the day she got it, due to reasons like the fit, color etc. Surprise would’ve been better according to me. 🙂

  9. Anu says:

    Ha ha! you owe me girl! For dragging you away from that place and saving you loads of money! 😀
    Nevertheless glad that he liked the ring and more importantly has agreed to wear it! 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Oh I definitely owe it to you! 🙂
      I know! Two days later, he told me it was itching. I said let it itch, you scratch. 😛 😀

Share your thoughts...

