Birthday Celebration – II (My gift and Trip Day 1)

on

After having arranged for the gift, I was at peace as there would be no last minute rush of what to get. However I knew that BG would have no inclination to get a gift or plan anything for the birthday, like his typical self. So for one, I planned the Mangalore trip and two, I threatened told him that this time he has to get me something on this own.

He kept pestering me to tell what I want. He kept suggesting that we go and buy whatever I want. I stood my ground and told him that this time he has to take the effort to go out and pick something for me, all on his own. What the item was and what would be the cost, didn’t matter. I just wanted him to spare some thought and time to think about what I would like or dislike.

He did not like this idea and wasn’t at peace. Yet, till a day before his birthday he hadn’t gone anywhere. Knowing that it was the last day that he could get something and that we’ll be travelling later that night, he finally went out. In fact he even called me from somewhere there and asked me what color I would like. :-/ I told him that I would like whatever he picked.

Later in the evening he handed me this –

20160215_110044
Lavie Clutch!

To say the least, I loved it! More than anything, I was really happy that he spent time and effort in picking it out for me! ❤ I know I forced him into it, but I don’t regret it! Even after the entire episode, he kept telling that from the next year he wouldn’t do anything like this. I told him that I was fine with it and I would also stop planning and doing stuff, and then we’ll be even! He then kept quiet. 😛

That night we started to Mangalore and travelled by the non-AC sleeper bus which we had booked. My friend ‘P’ picked us from the bus stop. After freshening up and having the soft dosas and coconut chutney prepared by his wife, P walked into the hall with a cake for BG. We then sang the Happy Birthday song and cut the cake and ate it up, before heading towards the Pilikula Zoo. We expected the weather to be really hot. But surprisingly there was a slight cloud cover and a lot of tree cover in the zoo. We had a great time there.

Cake
BG’s Birthday Cake.

They also have an option, where you can rent a buggy and use that to roam around in the Zoo. We chose to walk the 2 km stretch. They have a wide variety of birds and animals. However it was a sad sight to see some of the high altitude birds, cooped up in a cage that did no justice to their capability. Many of these birds were aged and had forgotten to fly. 😦 The facility was clean and maintained well though.

The Tiger looked aged too, but it took a walk around in its area, as if to show off its majesty! The Leopards and the Bear on the other hand decided to remain far in their enclosure. The Lioness’ had decided to nap. We couldn’t spot the Lion or the elephants. I was really looking forward to see the elephants. 😦

DSC02418
Dozing Lioness’

Though it was a nice experience to see these animals, I felt sad at the end of it all, considering their plight. They forget to fly and hunt. They lose their natural instincts. Also they must be really bored, being locked up since so many years. 😦 I appreciate National Parks much better than Zoos, since they provide a much more natural environment.

From here we went to the adjacent lake and decided to go boating, which was not such a great idea considering that it was peak noon and by now the sun was right on the top of our head, beating down on us. On the way back we lunched at the Punjab da Pind restaurant and had some awesome Punjabi food! Feeling full and tired from the heat, we returned home to nap for a while!

Post the afternoon nap we headed towards Tannir Bhavi beach. Unlike Chennai, we could not sight the beach till we were really close. No coast road with beach on one side. We parked and walked down and suddenly we were at the beach! It was beautiful!! I love beaches (who doesn’t!?). The sound of the water, the sight of the waves, the feel of the sand below the feet and the setting sun is the most peaceful and calming experience. The sea makes me feel like a tiny speck on this planet. I wish there was a beach in Bangalore too, where I could go and sit and spend my lonely and romantic evenings. Sigh! 😦

DSC02453
The inviting sea!
My Feet
My Feet!

We sat there till the sun set and then drove back home. Later we settled down to play Monopoly for hours! They wanted to stay awake till 12, to celebrate my birthday and bid adieu to BG’s. I who wasn’t very keen on playing the game, got so interested after a while that we continued playing till the clock struck 12! It was great fun!

 

PS: My b’day celebration and day 2 of the trip in the next post! 😉 Also I really couldn’t proofread this post well, kindly ignore the typos, if any. 😛

18 Comments Add yours

  1. That is a beautiful clutch! Guys need to be given doses to buck up regularly😀

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks PB! They definitely need regular doses. :-/

  2. kinmin says:

    I really like that clutch! And yes, I also agree with the idea that someone gives it a thought and buys something for me! 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Kinmin! 🙂

  3. Greenboochi says:

    The clutch looks super cool! 🙂 You know what, S keeps asking me days before my birthday or our anniversary, as to what would I like for the gift. I shoo him off most of the time. For some reason, I am completely ok with no gift but I dont like telling what I want. This year is the first time, he stopped asking me the question and it was really surprising when I got the gift 🙂 I am sure Bg would make this habit if he does this for a couple more years 🙂

    By the way, your pictures are awesome – especially the beach shots. As soon as I read the word zoo, I got very excited but as you wrote, most animals are stuck up and captivated for years which is very sad.

    Looking forward to the next part! 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks GB! 🙂 Seeing the surprise gift that S got you this time, I still have some hope that BG might change too. 😛
      Thanks! I loved the beach pics too. 🙂

  4. Tharani says:

    Belated birthday wishes Arch! That’s one lovely clutch! The trip sounds fun. Waiting for the next parts 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Tharani! 🙂

  5. Belated bday wishes to you and BG! And pretty clutch. Glad you pushed him to get it 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Pop! 🙂

  6. HoneyBee says:

    Woww!! Beautiful pictures Arch!! 🙂 And the clutch, is so very pretty.. 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thanks Honeybee! 🙂

  7. Jo says:

    Lovely clutch Arch.. I also like watching the animals at their natural habitats only. That said, I have visited a zoo too. True that the size or cost of the gift doesn’t matter. A gift is a gift is gift, right? May you get many surprise gifts from the now on.

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Jo! 🙂

  8. Anu says:

    That’s one awesome gift! Maybe I should try threatening too, but on second thoughts, don’t think it will work after all these years! 😦
    Why are men so bad at getting gifts! 😡
    Wow! board games! what fun you guys have had! 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      There’s no harm in trying, is there? 😉
      Men and their ways! x-(

  9. Mi says:

    How immensely thoughtful of him… the pestering kinda helped.. That’s a beauitiful clutch!
    Lovely pics, Arch.. And that sunset and beach..awesome!

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Mi! 🙂
      The time at the beach was so nice. If only I had a chance to go frequently, it would be great.

Share your thoughts...

