New found love!

I owe a big thank you to all you lovely people who commented on my last post and pushed me to stand up for myself. I did pick an opportunity to speak about how it is tough to manage without a help and that I get tired too, with all the work. It was more like a fight, but I am glad I voiced out how I felt. I made it clear that I will only wait till the end of this month, for the lady to show up, else I am going to look for someone new.  I also spoke about how I feel about the co-sister not helping out and taking things easy all the time.

BG is of great help to me. He is a wonderful partner who helps me out in almost everything. He shares the tasks of doing the dishes, cleaning the house, chopping veggies and everything else. I know it’s tiring for him too. My whole argument was that we are both tiring ourselves doing all this along with our regular work.

However, I don’t like his line of thought, which goes like – “if you can do it, do it. Don’t expect others to do something for you just because you are doing something for them. If you can’t do it, then just let it be.” I feel that this theory doesn’t work in everyday life. If you keep doing something, the others will continue to take advantage of it and not do anything themselves, thinking it’s not necessary. They won’t realize unless you tell them. Running a household is about everyone pitching in with their share of duties. We had a long argument about this again. No outcome came of it. We just have to agree to disagree on this!

I couldn’t stop thinking about our argument, so on Sunday I decided to focus all my energy on revamping my terrace garden. We had these clay tiles, granite slabs and pieces of wooden beading lying around since the time of our house construction. I decided to make use of those. I stacked up the tiles and laid down the slabs on them, to make platforms on which I could place the pots. This makes the cleaning of the terrace a lot easier and the terrace looks much neater. 🙂 I tied up the wooden beadings to form a support on which I could let the creepers spread. The bitter-gourd and cucumber creepers are growing fast and they needed support.

20160110_162437
Before

 

20160515_151724
After

But the end of the whole process I have been left with such a sore back and sore legs that I had to take a day off yesterday. Even today, I am dragging my feet around to walk, as it’s so painful. But I am pleased with the outcome, it feels totally worth the pain! 🙂

I have been wanting to share all the lovely stuff that I have reaped from my garden for a long time now. It is a really satisfying and happy feeling. 🙂

The veggies –

 

The flowers –

This space has become so close to my heart. I love spending time amidst the plants. I get so excited to see the new buds or the tiny veggies. We had plenty of fresh tomatoes and quite a few ridge gourds in last month. I had an awesome time, figuring out how to hand pollinate the female ridge gourd flowers, and seeing it suddenly transform into a ridge gourd in a day or two. I was delighted to find out that the jasmine was the seven layered jasmine (Elu suttina mallige). 🙂

Nature never ceases to amaze me, with the it’s hidden beauty. We humans have messed with it so much and yet it’s so forgiving. I am able to appreciate the wondrous ability of nature at a different level, after I started gardening. I was always in love with nature, but I fell head over heels this time!

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Anu says:

    I’m glad that you spoke up and made your point clear! That’s the way to go forward! 🙂
    Your garden looks great and the efforts have paid off! Incidentally I too spent a back-breaking evening at my garden on the same day! 😛
    I especially love the juicy tomatoes and brinjals! And you can recognise a female flower and hand-pollinate it??!! Wow *Bows with respect* :O

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you! 😀

  2. I am happy that you spoke. Continue being the strong one! Raawwwr!
    I loveee how your plants look! I am thinking about seriously sitting down and doing something to my patio this weekend. My this batch of cilantro is not going to grow. Must re-plant. And plant other seeds. I am already late for the season but let’s see what happens. Suggest some easy veggies Na please that are non-killable.
    And hand pollinate? I have such a dirty joke in my head but I am going to shut up and giggle silently. 😂

    1. Arch says:

      😛 😛
      Tomatoes are the easiest to grow according to me. They grow anywhere and everywhere. I didn’t even plant most of these. They came from the seeds in the compost.

      Another thing you can try is fill is a wide mouthed bottle with water till the brim and place an onion on it, such that the bottom of the onion just touches the water. In a few days you’ll see the roots and some shoots coming out. Plant this in a pot and you’ll have a good supply of spring onions for a long time!

      Do let me know when you try any of these. 🙂

      1. I actually got super enthu today. Went and bought 60 L of potting mix, few pots, mint, tomato, cucumber, jalapeño baby plants. Woohoo!

  3. pins & ashes says:

    Lovely produce ya Arch.. Are those white ones Lillees..? And look how clean and organized your terrace garden looks.. But take it slowly .. Each day little work..! Hugs and big hugs ..

Share your thoughts...

