Tides of change

on

Life keeps posing new challenges. Sometimes I feel life is all about just facing these and trudging along. I get into this kinda mode/mood when things change. Even if they have changed by my own choice.

I am at a new job now. It’s been less than two weeks. I am missing my old friends and colleagues so much! Though I had been with them for just six months, I loved it. The work environment there was extremely nice. The people that hung around there with, were extremely positive and going there gave me a good feel. I looked forward to going to office.

I used to travel for four hours in a day, which by the way was one of the main reasons I decided to make a move when the current opportunity came along. But I loved the travel time because I had great cab-mates. Our topics of discussion varied from world politics to MIL issues, from property, land, real estate to love stories. We discussed moving back to villages and farming at lengths. We had our own snack parties and treats on the way back home. It was a lovely time!

Though I was referred here by an old friend and colleague, I am not comfortable yet. We are good friends, but here I have been made to report to her. That feels weird to me somehow. We worked for the same team before too. We were on the same level. I had been associated with that team longer than she was and hence I was there when she joined and we became good friends. Now it’s weird to think of her as my reporting manager and I wonder if it will affect my personal relationship with her.

BG asks me, what I would have done if we were at the same level together and one day she had got promoted to a position above me and a similar situation would have occurred. I guess I would have felt weird then as well. I know and agree that it’s all normal in the IT world or in fact in any organization. I need to deal with it professionally and focus on my responsibilities. All said and done, it will still take some time for the weird feeling to go away. :-/

Another reason I am yet to mingle here is because I miss those varied discussions and talks. Here it is usually gossip, comments or reporting things that were overheard. These are the conversations that people are always involved in. I have seen such environments previously also in my career and I really detest it. I feel I thrived in the positive environment and it did a lot of good for my professional growth too.

I made the choice to move because at some point of time in my life, I had to prioritize my personal life too. I am not growing any younger, am I? The work, travel and stress was not doing any good to my health and I had to choose. The current workplace is about 15 min from my house. I get some extra sleep now, have time to go for a walk again in the morning. I don’t need to worry or panic about how I will reach home, even if I get late. Most importantly I am not struck in the traffic twice a day, building my stress.Β  These are important factors and maybe I should give myself enough time to like the new work and workplace. For now, I’ll go back to reminiscing about the old days and feel blah here! :-/

14 Comments Add yours

  1. pins & ashes says:

    a workplace 15 minutes away is good and bad I would say, what if they ask you to come and work, because you can just make a run for it..
    Weird! very weird about the reporting part! and it takes time to get acclimatized. Patience Arch! patience.

    1. Arch says:

      Yeah I know.. patience is what I need to have..

      1. pins & ashes says:

        You are afrer all an Aquarian..we survive anywhere πŸ™‚

  2. Anu says:

    I’ve observed that you go through the same rant-y cycle every time you change a job! :-/
    You had the exact same thoughts when you joined your previous workplace as well… so it’s nothing new. You just have to give it sometime and settle down.
    Not being stuck in traffic for 2-3 hours everyday is a h-u-g-e blessing! Ask me how I know! 😦
    There will be pros and cons of working at any place and no workplace will ever be perfect – we just have to look at the positives and try to keep ourselves motivated! Good luck!

    1. Arch says:

      :-/ I do go through that cycle each time. That’s because I hate change! Being stuck in traffic for 2-3 hours, I’ve been there too. It is such a relief to be able to reach so quickly! Thank you for the wishes! πŸ™‚

      1. Anu says:

        Don’t be disheartened, it’ll all be OK soon πŸ™‚ And that is a great place to work, in many ways… I hope you will enjoy working there, as I did many years ago πŸ™‚

  3. Greenboochi says:

    I admire you for creating a change, Arch. I know it is not easy, so to induce it on your own – takes a lot of guts. As for reporting to your peer, I can understand the weirdness. Although it has not happened to me, I have seen my colleagues feel that way. Weirdness is right, I guess.

    Glad to know that you have some extra time and are able to do things that you couldnt do otherwise πŸ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you GB! πŸ™‚ I do hope I get over the weird feeling and perform my best!

  4. jan says:

    Shorter travel time is a good thing! I hope you don’t feel weird about the reporting for too long. As long as you can differentiate between the personal and professional relationship you should be fine. Good luck with the new job! Enjoy the changes!

    1. Arch says:

      Hey jan! Welcome here. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the wishes and taking time to comment! I hope I get over it soon too.

  5. I also work 15 min away from my home. It’s bliss! Traffic jams in LA area are HORRIBLE and there is a bad lack of public transport. It’s a blessing to get the extra time and I pay way more rent to have that in my evenings. Totally worth it.

    1. Arch says:

      Oh my! I though traffic was bad only in India! 😐 Yeah here too I see people spending a fortune and moving closer to their workplace. So I guess I must just be glad. πŸ™‚

  6. Archita says:

    Change is good, without it life is a boring straight line. All the best, Arch

Share your thoughts...

