So far, so good…

on

I missed blogging about all milestones. The anniversary, the 30th birthday and so many more things. The inclination to blog also has gone down. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I blame the office network for it. Commenting and posting is blocked in the office network. ๐Ÿ˜กย I can only browse through and read the posts. I cannot comment on them, I cannot publish a post of my own. It is so irritating. I have to shamelessly confess that I used to usually draft my posts and read other posts between work. ๐Ÿ˜

When WordPress suddenly gave me a notification a couple of days back, saying your blog is getting a lot of unusual traffic, I was surprised. Someone had actually read through my old posts. Whoever it was, thank you! You made me feel good ๐Ÿ™‚ It made me realize its high time I wrote something. All I am trying to do is save the blog from officially being dead. :-/

Like I mentioned, I turned 30, about a month back. I had demanded from my sister, mom and BG that I get some big gift on this special occasion. Little did I know that they would actually plan for something big. The previous day was BG’s birthday. I had planned to get him a cycle as gift (something to make him work towards his fitness). But as always my perfection seeking husband kept researching about models for so long that he couldn’t decide till the actual day. As a backup I had bought him a Casio watch. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Btw I should mention that he has zeroed in on a model, which is brand new and hence not in stock currently in any of the outlets we checked (which are a lot of them). So we are yet to bring home the cycle.

My birthday started as any usual day. We later visited the temple and had lunch outside. The plan was to go to my Mom’s house in the evening. My sister had told that she would be there too. I was so not prepared for the huge surprises ahead. ๐Ÿ˜€ As we sat down, BG went inside and brought out a huge box. It contained the Canon 1200D DSLR. I had been eyeing it for sometime, but hadn’t bought it. During this time’s Amazon/Flipkart sale too, I mentioned it to BG. We dropped the plan thinking maybe we will get a better deal later. But he secretly went ahead and ordered it. Got it delivered to his friend’s house and kept it a secret from me! It was so unlike him and such a pleasant surprise! ๐Ÿ™‚

While I was still trying to digest that. My nephew walked in with a bouquet of flowers in hand. ๐Ÿ™‚ Then they got out a cake and sung the happy birthday song and everything. So much fun! After the cake cutting, all of them went into the room. My nephew brought out a gift, out came my mom with one, ย my sister with one and even my grandma with one. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ The pile of gifts in front of me kept growing bigger as they kept getting more of them. There we about 8 or 9ย big gifts all wrapped up in front of me.

I opened each one of them diligently, exclaiming my happiness and delight at each one of them – a card, a book, a shrug, a bag, a kurta, a stole, slippers, coffee mug set, a dress material and so on. Just as I finished unwrapping those, my sister handed over to me a basket full of gifts – in all sizes. Phew! I then realized, she was presenting me with 30 different gifts for having turned 30. Could the birthday have been any awesomer? ๐Ÿ˜€ Only my awesome sister could plan something like this!! โค

While I slowly opened each one of those, the others were getting impatient that I was unwrapping them so neatly. They were asking me rip apart the packing. Those gifts had every possible thing. From cosmetics to jewelry and chocolates to accessories, everything! My mom had so nicely packed each one of them individually. My happiness knew no bounds. I was savouring the day and it’s events for many more days. Even now when I recollect it, my heart fills with so much love and warmth thinking about the love that my family has towards me. I am blessed. *Touchwood*. The final touch was all of us enjoying mom made pulao and sweets. ๐Ÿ™‚

I had made a list of “things to do before turning 30”, few years back. I revisited that and was glad to have achieved a few of them. However I could have fared better. Some of them are only partially achieved and are work in progress. Writing it here for preserving it –

  • Read at least 30 books.
  • Get a technical certification.
  • Learn a new technology.
  • Learn sewing.
  • Drive the car independently.
  • Save 5 lakh rupees.
  • Have a baby.
  • Use up the stash and knit wearables.
  • Visit Goa.
  • Reach 300 blog posts.
  • Maintain a well decorated clean house.
  • Grow waist length hair.
  • Become an early riser.
  • Cut down to two cups of coffee.
  • Walk, exercise/do yoga regularly.
  • Learn a new language.
  • Learn to start a conversation/talk to strangers.
  • Start cooking and try new recipes.
  • Learn baking.
  • Gain weight.
  • Build patience, reduce anger.
  • Finish the anchor stitch kit.
  • Make a big doily for the house.
  • Maintain expense record.
  • Sketch/paint more often.

I need to come up with a new list now, for 35? or 40. Importantly I need to work towardsย achieving it. ๐Ÿ™‚

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Mi says:

    Yay.. Happy Birthday- belated, Happy Anniversary – belated…and what an awesome gift there! I have the same camera,,great for beginners.. Can’t wait to see your clicks.. or may be a photography blog or something!
    So good to see your post! Hope you’ve been good! Hugs!

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much Mi! ๐Ÿ™‚ Yet to explore the cam extensively.

  2. Belated happy birthday wishes!

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you. ๐Ÿ™‚ Welcome here..

  3. Happy birthday! I am joining you soon enough in the 30s club! So keep the party going! Hehe

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you and welcome to the club. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Don’t forget to post about your plans and how the birthday goes..

  4. Tatsat says:

    I am quite intrigued by the list. Birthday, and everything else, is well and good.. but the list! Now, this is something! Do click some pictures and post here as well… Just deleted another facebook profile ๐Ÿ˜›

    1. Arch says:

      ๐Ÿ™‚ I could have done better with the list. Yeah I hope to learn to use the camera well. Will definitely post pictures when I take something good.

      Haha! FB! Serious sucker of time and energy.. really..

  5. Ramya says:

    Many many happy returns of your birthday,Arch ๐Ÿ™‚ wish you a happy peaceful and contended 30’s.

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you Ramya! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Anu says:

    Yay, finally a blog post after such a long time! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Glad that you enjoyed the birthday – that was the intention – to have you remember with fondness and savour it for a long time – especially when you have angry feelings about me! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I loved the list! “Use up the stash and knit wearables” – I think that should be in our lists forever! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Love you loads! :-*

    1. Arch says:

      Don’t even remind me of knitting and other craft supplies that I have hoarded. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ
      Love you toooo. :-*

  7. Greenboochi says:

    So so beautiful Arch ๐Ÿ™‚ I remember one birthday post you had written where you wanted BG to take some effort.. now look at him ๐Ÿ™‚ You should be so proud and happy ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you had a wonderful day, belated birthday wishes Arch ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much GB ๐Ÿ™‚

Share your thoughts...

