O – Obsession

on

I am obsessive about quite a few things, but what would qualify to closely being a OCD is my need for the kitchen platform to be clean. If I have to cook or do anything around in the kitchen, I need the platform to be clean.

Staying with my MIL, who is close to 65 and extremely messy when it comes to cooking, I have been trying to tame this obsessiveness of mine, but in vain. Being polar opposites, it will only result in fights if one of us don’t change our ways. Now I cannot really change her, so the best I can try to do is control myself.

She ends up messing the entire huge L-shaped platform, even if it is a single dish that she has to prepare. In fact there will be water over the floor at times and not an inch of clean space anywhere on the platform to put down anything. Water, peels, ingredients spilt, numerous utensils, both clean and used ones are all over the place. Needless to say, I hate this! She does do her best in cleaning up after she completes all the cooking. But some how I am just not satisfied with that. Practically speaking, I should be okay with that.

I have tried both ways – subtle and polite to loud and rude, to convey to her that the messinessΒ is something I can’t stand. In fact my obsession is to an extent where, if I spill something in the middle of cooking, I don’t wait to finish the cooking and clean it. I start cleaning it in the middle of cooking. I get extremely irritated if there is water on the floor. Some times the first thing you will see me doing at 6 in the morning is cleaning the kitchen platform. 😦

I want the platform to be dry. It irks me to see a patchily wiped platform. It should be clean and even. I first wipe it with a wet cloth and then with a dry one, so there are no patches anywhere. Many a times, I start cleaning stuff when my MIL is still making something, just to show to her that I don’t like it. That irritates her, but doesn’t make her change her ways. Some times she takes it for granted that I will do the cleaning anyway and creates a mega mess!

BG advised me many a time to leave the kitchen messy, if it so. Let people who created the mess clean it. But the obsessive me just can’t sleep in peace imagining the unclean platform. On days that I am unwell or too tired, I drive BG mad until he does the cleaning up. I give him very specific instructions on how things are to be kept and wiped etc.

If what my MIL is doing is not right, I know what I am doing isn’t right either. If I complain that she doesn’t change herself, it is wrong that I am not cutting them some slack either. After all each one is used to their own ways. Until either of us change, if you visit our kitchen you will most likely see me with a cloth wiping the platform and my MIL clumsily spilling something. I might not even rest peacefully in my grave if I don’t get rid of this obsession. 😦

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I don’t do a lot of cooking but I can still relate to this. If at all I’m cooking and there’s a mess, I can’t proceed without cleaning it up. It’s like I can’t have a clear head without a clear working station. I guess it’s just the way we’re wired!

    1. Arch says:

      I am so glad that you understand me and can relate to me πŸ™‚

      1. I’m glad to know I’m not alone in this clean-as-soon-as-there-is-a-mess feeling! 😊

  2. I hated when my roommates left the kitchen in a mess. One of the best things about living on my own is that I can live in a sane and hygienic manner. I am not very tidy, but very clean. Even when my mom visited, I was clear about how I like my kitchen and what is kept where. And to be fair, I let her kitchen be as she likes too.

    1. Arch says:

      I am so glad finding like minded people here. That’s one of the best things about blogging. πŸ™‚
      All the confusion and irritation is obviously because we stay together and are forced to share the kitchen.

  3. Anu says:

    Ooh I didn’t know we shared this obsession! That cleaning-up-in-the-middle-of-cooking is sooo me!! πŸ˜€ How did we both turn out this way? I don’t remember amma being like this?!
    I need the kitchen to be clean at all times – morning, noon, night! In the mornings I’ll be getting late but still will be wiping down the hob and it’s surroundings with a cloth till the last minute – even the oil-splatters from the last ‘oggarane’! And the first thing I do after going back home is put things into their place in my kitchen πŸ™‚
    I’ve had my share of run-ins with the mil too – but those were days in her kitchen so I didn’t have much say – talk about ending up cleaning when somebody else does the mess!!*eye roll*

    1. Arch says:

      Same pinch! It maybe a trait from Dad? 😐 I still remember him insisting that the floor be wiped with a dry cloth after a wet one. So true, that oil-splatter stains!

Share your thoughts...

