Pregnancy Diary – 02.03.2017

“I wrote these posts when I was expecting. There’s always a fear associated with sharing things publicly before the due date, which made me hold back from posting them back then. However I would like to share them now.”

I am not sure, why I didn’t think of this before. I wanted to make a note of my pregnancy days, the significant milestones etc., but didn’t want to publish it as I didn’t want to jinx anything. I did make a note of things in my diary. Today I realized, what if I wrote down posts that I would want to write right now, but not post them? Post it later after my delivery. So it will be recorded here for me to revisit and I can share my pregnancy story with my few blogger friends too. 🙂
So here I am, making a note of things, if not sooner, later. I have just entered my third trimester and had been enjoying my pregnancy quite a bit until now. I strangely did not have cravings, which I looked forward to. I imagined myself demanding BG to get me things at odd times etc. But not once did that happen. My tastes didn’t change, unlike a few of my friends. A friend of mine who doesn’t like mangoes, ended up devouring so many of them during her pregnancy.

I stuck to eating and liking what I usually eat and like. Of course the quantities varied. 😐 I wasn’t able to eat much during the first trimester. I actually lost weight around that time and got a lecture from my doctor. In the second trimester I ate well. But we stuck to eating at home or from our usual favorite eatery joints. Whether or not I gained the average 2 kg per month, BG surely did. 😀 He has become a roly-poly teddy bear. Eating his share and eating what I can’t finish. 😀 In this last trimester I am again unable to eat much. Right now I am not even sure where my stomach is located. The bump takes up the major area. 🙂

I didn’t have major mood swings either. I didn’t yell at people or cry too much. I used to be a little worked up during the initial days, showing the anger on the juniors in my team. One of them had even remarked asking what is the matter with you nowadays, is there some good news? 😛

The highlight of this duration for me obviously was the day I first felt my baby kick. I was at office in the middle of some work and felt like something moved. I was not sure if I had imagined it. I had been looking out for movements since a few weeks then. I sat silently to see if it was real and it would happen again. It did, after a few minutes. This time it was clear. It felt like a tiny punch more than a kick. I was so excited and happy. I immediately texted BG about it.

The baby is smart! It used to go all silent the moment BG touched the tummy. But then his hand is always super warm, so maybe that made a difference too. Day by day the movements got clearer and I could feel it better. However it took nearly two weeks for making BG feel it. 😐 From then on it has been entertaining – from punches and kicks to feeling the wiggles and turns now, everything feels amazing. In fact I start worrying if it is silent for too long. BG keeps saying let it sleep also for a while. 🙂

I was super happy when the doctor told me during the scans that the baby is very active. BG is a lazy person, so from this trait of the baby I am hoping it will take after me? 😉 My Mom told me I was very active when I was in her belly. The movements weren’t too many in her other pregnancies, but it was over the top during mine. 😀

We tried hard to think of a gender neutral nickname for our baby and could hardly come up with anything. We gave up. Somewhere along the line I started referring to the baby as gundu* and now I use that most of the times. I need to see if that nickname sticks around.

That has been a part of my story so far. I will keep drafting and saving the posts in the coming days and publish it when it’s time. 🙂

*gundu – is a Kannada word which refers to something round.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jo says:

    This is a such a sweet post dear 🙂 Looking forward to more preg posts. Also Gundu tales 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much 🙂 Trying to publish whenever I find some time.. Thanks for reading!

  2. Archita says:

    My baby is fondly called “gundamma” too because she has a round face like mine..:) I am so glad, she got a namesake baby brother. Welcome “Gundu” to our big little world. I hope you are feeling better, Arch. Love and best wishes to you. If you want to share anything, ask new mother questions, you know my email. 🙂 I am so so so so happy for you 🙂

    1. Arch says:

      Thank you so much Archita! 🙂 Lotsa kissies to gundamma :-*

Share your thoughts...

